I love it when it rains

February 16, 2005 § 4 Comments

This morning was as bright and sunshiny as you could please, but here at quarter after three, it is dark as night, and the rain is pouring down. Lightening is flashing, thunder is cracking, and shivers of pleasure are running down my spine.

I love the rain. Thunderstorms rock my world. Ain’t weather (in it’s many manifestations) grand?

Today, i’m feeling rather odd. The tedium of the Executive Suite can be mind numbing at times, but still, it’s better than… a root canal, I suppose.

It’s all about perspective.

I have read several things among my friends and on message boards today that I simply do not have the energy, nor inclination to challenge. Despite the rising up I feel within myself when I read them. That’s ok tho. Disagreeing just for the sake of argument is a silly thing. Especially when what you disagree with is a much larger issue than what may be stated directly. It’s about a mindset rather than an idea, and arguing idealogy never got anybody anywhere. 😉

I discovered a couple of new things today by following links to other LJ’s thru friend’s of friends. had some interesting links, including this one: http://www.ladiesagainstfeminism.com/artman/publish/

and I were talking about something along these lines the other day. I suspect it may be more to my idea of things than hers, but we both agreed that Feminism as a whole has been more of a detriment to the cause of women than a help. (Fie on thee, Judy Chicago, and your ilk!!)

My my my… look at that stormy sky… deep dark and beautiful makes the lights of the city sparkle.

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to I love it when it rains

  • silver_nyssa says:

    That is an interesting link, thanks, I’ve already spent about an hour going through it.

  • DT says:

    Isn’t it though? I was totally enthralled. Made me want to be a better woman! lol

  • natecull says:

    Elephants
    I have read several things among my friends and on message boards today that I simply do not have the energy, nor inclination to challenge. Despite the rising up I feel within myself when I read them. That’s ok tho. Disagreeing just for the sake of argument is a silly thing. Especially when what you disagree with is a much larger issue than what may be stated directly. It’s about a mindset rather than an idea, and arguing idealogy never got anybody anywhere. 😉
    I presume you’re meaning bellatrys’s weblog?
    I’m curious as to what you mean by ‘a much larger issue than what may be stated directly’. I’d love to know what that larger issue is. It may hold a key to the problems I’m facing right now. Is there some reason why you can’t talk about it? Are you afraid of repercussions if you openly say some things in front of certain people? Or you just don’t have the shared language to say what you feel, but can’t articulate, and you feel any attempt at communication is hopeless from the start?
    I’ve been in both places, and know that it is a very painful thing to try to open one’s own beliefs to conscious examination while trying not to betray the spirit and the truth. But I think it’s something we all have to do sooner or later. Even if only to be able to say ‘yes, I have looked at what I believe, and I remain holding firmly to it for these reasons‘.

  • DT says:

    Re: Elephants– right in the middle of the living room!
    Or you just don’t have the shared language to say what you feel, but can’t articulate, and you feel any attempt at communication is hopeless from the start?
    Let’s just call it laziness on my part. lol When I first read the article, it was through my friend, ‘s LJ, and the comments involved there. At first I was just overwhelmed with “Well, this is just wrong on so many levels!” It was the complexity of the issue, yes, but also the fact that when you pull on one little thread, eventually, it leads to some massive monster with which I just don’t feel like dealing. As you have already seen, I sucked it up after this post and dove right in at the source– bellatrys’ initial article.
    I’m curious as to what you mean by ‘a much larger issue than what may be stated directly’. I’d love to know what that larger issue is.
    The larger issue is the monster at the end of the thread. People’s views are mere expressions of their internal attitudes about faith and life in general. You may debate a political issue (something I *really* try to avoid) but soon find yourself arguing about something much larger and deeper.
    My focus is on my faith. Scripture, Christ’s life and words, the Apostle’s deeds and teachings– these are the things on which I must base my world view and from whence I make my decisions. I have no desire to argue about the validity or necessity of war– it simply IS. There is no getting around that fact. Just as there is sin and pain and sure as God made little green apples, war is a sordid reality in this world.
    But God has placed we Christians in this world as His ministers of reconciliation. We are the salt and light of this world, and if we are doing our jobs properly, men will be drawn to us. We shouldn’t have to go out of our way to point out the depravity– our righteousness and love should make the distinction apparent.
    I have a major problem with Christians trying to dictate to the world how to they (the world) should live. That’s how Inquisitions and heretical burnings start. there is no love, grace or mercy in that. Nor does it show the humility, self-control, and respect for the authorities placed over us that we are called to. Scripture tells us that God placed governments, ruling bodies, and authorities in this world with a purpose. For Christians, it is our job to make sure that no matter what system of government we live under, we are law abiding, upstanding citizens. IF we are called to war for the nation, for example, we should decline, for that is a place where man’s laws conflict with God’s. But that doesn’t mean that that nation is wrong to go to war, or to ask it’s citizens to fight. We’re talking about two different systems here: God’s and Man’s. Christians should be in God’s system, helping and serving all of those in Man’s. That’s the only way that the ones in darkness will see the light and be able to cross over.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I love it when it rains at Cultured Mama.

meta

