He’s here, the Phantom of the Opera….

February 27, 2005 § 4 Comments

Can I swoon now?? My oh my…

On the advice of , I went to see Phantom in the theater today. Gerry Butler is now my new eye candy:

*fans self* I have to agree with her that Erik has always held quite an appeal for me. Something about that whole Orpheus thing; the seductive quality of his voice and genius. If only it weren’t for that minor psychotic thing…

He is truly a pitiable character, and you want to just take him home and love him. Unfortunatley, he’s insane. *sigh*

What Michael Crawford did for his voice, Butler does ten-fold for his presence. “Point of No Return” and “Down Once More…” are the point where I usually become a sobbing wreck when listening to the cast recording, and the movie definitely did it for me again. I found myself wondering if Butler might not get the Oscar nod for this one. I sure hope so!

Tagged:

§ 4 Responses to He’s here, the Phantom of the Opera….

  • He’s mine, I tell you! MINE!! My own! My PRECIOUS!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Butler didn’t even get a nomination for the role, more’s the pity. Wasn’t he fantastic in the role, though? I just loved the way he portrayed the character– like you said, it’s all about his screen presence. Incredible. =)

  • DT says:

    Shows what I know!
    I didn’t realize how long it had been out.
    Now how did something like Million Dollar Baby get the nod when THIS was out there???

  • DT says:

    I mean, LOOK AT HIM!!
    Not that Oscars are given for being delisciously and astoundingly charismatic and gorgeous. But still. I’m holding own awards show.
    He wins.
    Everything.

  • frodo_esque says:

    It was a great movie wasn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚ When the movie ended my friend and I looked at each other with these huge emotional grins–which were aptly ruined by the three guys a few rows down who exclaimed, “FINALLY! The damn movie’s OVER!!”
    *grrrr*
    I did like Butler, although to be honest, he was too “pretty” to fit the role of the Phantom in my eyes. The Phantom was supposed to be grotesque–and that tiny half mask didn’t do enough to cover him. When he uncovered himself at the end–not sure if you caught that his grotesque parts spanned a great surface area than the mask covered.
    But alas–I liked his raw energy, and yes, he is too-the-sexy!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading He’s here, the Phantom of the Opera…. at Cultured Mama.

meta

