Catfish is yummy.

March 3, 2005 § 10 Comments

Tonight for dinner we had catfish. Fried catfish with hushpuppies.

Now, to a southern-bred girl, this is ambrosia. Especially when you have had to accostom yourself to Yankee food.

I miss going out and catching my own dinner. There is almost nothing better than catching a fish, and frying it up outside with hushpuppies and hand-cut fries… mm mm good. Happy memories of my childhood.

And the music helps…

Tagged: , ,

§ 10 Responses to Catfish is yummy.

  • koinegeek says:

    Yummm… I haven’t had catfish in ages…
    Though I’m not sure if I’d trust to eat the fish I catch in any of the greater-metro Atlanta lakes (Alatoona, Lanier, etc.) – too much suburban sprawl…
    One of the things that maddened me when I lived up north was the absolute lack of grits, even in the stores. Had to have them shipped UPS by family.

  • Refresh my memory. What’re hushpuppies? I know the term, but I can’t remember. Been a long time since I lived in the South.
    Although I’m more used to fresh-caught trout and salmon than catfish. I don’t think they’re native to Utah.
    And koinegeek– grits is one southern food I never could develop a taste for. I like most hot cereals too. But grits and me just never got along. Glad someone likes ’em.

  • DT says:

    hushpuppies are like little flavorful balls of cornbread that have been deep-fried. They are YUMMY!
    😦 I am sorry for your distaste for grits. They are one of my food joys.

  • DT says:

    No grits!!!
    Luckily, our food service here alternates grits every other day with oatmeal, so I can get ’em almost whenever I want ’em. mmmm… hot buttered grits…
    *replaying “grit” scene from “My Cousin Vinnie” in my head*

  • Ah yes. I remember them now. They are tasty.
    At least there are people out there who do like grits, so I don’t have to eat them! 😉

  • Ooooo…. Catfish!!!!! Now you’re talking my language. Otter loves the catfish. ^_^
    -Otto

  • celandineb says:

    I rarely eat catfish – SO doesn’t like it – although good fried catfish can be pretty tasty. But given my druthers, I’d go for fresh-caught rainbow trout rolled in cornmeal and fried with a bit of bacon grease… mmm… that’s what I used to go fishing for as a kid!

  • DT says:

    Otters love to fish, don’t they. 😉

  • Hehehe… Yes, yes we do. 🙂
    -Otto

  • DT says:

    cornmeal… mmm….
    yeah, we’ve got plenty o’ trout round here, but to me, it pales in comparison. I think it helps that when I was a kid, I *fought* for my share of the catfish supper. I remember many times of my grandfather helping me reel in a big ol’ sucker…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Catfish is yummy. at Cultured Mama.

meta

