The Confession of Saint Patrick

March 17, 2005 § 10 Comments

Little is documented about Patrick, even tho we “celebrate” in his name every year. There in fact are only two documents of this transplanted Roman that we have from his hand. No, he didn’t chase any snakes out of Ireland, but his life was nonetheless remarkable.

From Roman citizen, to kidnapped slave in Ireland, he escaped to home only to be called back to the land of his captivity, to release the spiritual captives there. Patrick was the first person to bring the Word of God to the Emerald Isle, and tho he wasn’t Catholic, (as we might understand it today,) his spiritual legacy lives on.

Here’s to a man who’s life and faith should be an inspiration to us all! Here is his confession and his Letter to Coroticus.

God bless you all on this day to remember an awesome man of God, and Slainte!!

Have a jar on me. 😉

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to The Confession of Saint Patrick

  • julieatnu says:

    . . . tho he wasn’t Catholic, (his conversion post-dates what is now the Catholic church;)) his spiritual legacy lives on.
    Hmm. I don’t quite get how he wasn’t Catholic. I don’t really understand your parenthetical either so maybe I’m just hazy from my nap.
    Anyway, here’s the argument in favor of Patrick’s Catholicism.

  • DT says:

    It would be vain and fruitless to attempt an argument about when the Church became the “Roman Cathoolic Church’ but it has something to do when the Eastern Orthodox broke with the Roman Catholics, which happened later (if I understand the history properly.) The Church around 400 AD was a good deal different from what it looks like today, either Protestant or Catholic. Not *quite* as many heresies had been allowed to creep in, and the purity of faith– tho slightly removed from what it had been in the first, second, and even, somewhat, third centuries, was still intact. This can be said of Christianity from all the writings prior to the Council at Nicea in the third century, and definitely before Constantine (the bane of my existance) but things hadn’t gotten so bad. But this is more of an historical understanding of Christianity.
    Of course, Protestants and Catholics alike will attempt to claim Patrick for their own. I present that he was neither. He was a Christian who understood many practices and traditions that had been around since the Church’s inception 400 years before, and also some “newer” traditions that had grown up in that time.
    But no, he was not a Catholic as you might recognize it. And he most certainly was nothing like the insipidity we understand to be Protestantism in this country today.

  • DT says:

    In looking at it again, that statement was ill-worded, so I have editted it.

  • The thing that always amuses me about St. Patrick’s Day is that Patrick was of Scots blood. I find it a great irony that the most famous figure in Irish history is actually a Scot. =)

  • julieatnu says:

    Well, suffice it to say we disagree. I’m not an apologist and I prefer not to be pressed into that position so I’m not going to mount a great big argument. I’m sure you understand!
    That said. Your post above about the writings of the early church sounds so incredibly Catholic to me. I think if you take a look at the Catechism you might be surprised. Catholics take those writers very seriously. And when Catholics talk about the constant teaching of the Church, or Tradition, the early fathers figure into that pretty heavily, too.
    If you do have questions or want to argue out the point, forums.catholic.com has a board where you can post a question and get an answer from a professional apologist. Or you could try emailing Jimmy Akin (jimmyakin01 at gmail.com / jimmyakin.org) who came to the Catholic Church when he realized that the Catholic interpretation of the Bible was more literal than the Protestant reading. He’s a nice guy, and takes all comers as it were.
    But again, I’m not expecting or wanting an answer to this. I’m just throwing a few thoughts out there. I’m confident that your intellect and conscience will continue to draw you closer to God.

  • DT says:

    *:-) Oh, believe me, I know what areas the Catholics have right, and that the Protestants have wrong. I have not studied the early church fathers in vain. The Reformers threw out the baby with the bath water back in the day– and BOTH were wrong in their dealing with the anabaptists.
    Please, do not feel that I am attacking Catholics– I am a stauch defender of much of the doctrine that they have correct. The fact that they site the early church fathers also puts them one over on the Prods.
    Both have strayed (tho in different directions) from orthodoxy. It is my hope and prayer that all brothers and sisters in Christ can once agan be united in Spirit and purpose, and to let go of all of the division and strife. We are called His Body. Not His “Various Bits and Pieces.”
    I know you did not expect an answer, but I wanted to let you know that I was not without understanding– or for you to feel thaI am picking on Catholics– I don’t consider myself a Protestant either, and tend to tell Prods that I’m more Catholic in my sensibilities. 😉

  • I am very intrigued and would like to hear more about some of this.

  • lilia2000 says:

    I love the story of Patrick and his conversion. So very neat!

  • DT says:

    No problem,I love discussing it! 😀 Maybe I will do a more indepth post about the 2000 years since Christ established the church… 😉 *goes away to gather thoughts*

  • welshwolf says:

    Saint Patrick was a wonderful man of God. Not only a great evalengist, but a man that wanted to show love to the Irish people. By that, he showed God’s love. Actions with Patrick spoke louder than any sermon.
    May we that call Jesus our Saviour have the love of Saint Patrick in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Confession of Saint Patrick at Cultured Mama.

meta

