Memeage snagged from sandicomm

November 15, 2005 § 12 Comments

LJ Interests meme results

  1. c.s. lewis:
    The Man. I love Lewis. Even with his theological errors, he was still one of the great apologists of the 20th cecntury.
  2. christianity:
    I am of course very interested in the faith to which I belong, and will never cease searching out the scriptures, growing in faith in my relationship with Jesus, and closer in unity to my brothers and sisters in Him.
  3. dangermouse:
    Mouse of my dreams. I had a major crush on this one-eyed british super-spy when I was a kid.
  4. femininity:
    I think it is unfortunate that today’s culture has done all it can to pervert and corrupt true femininity. I am a woman– NOT a man. I am nothing like a man, and never will be, so my interests are best served pursuing the ideal of what it is to be a woman. And I figure the one who created women has the best idea of what that ideal is, so I seek His views on the subject.
  5. history:
    I love history. I’m not nearly as knowledgeable in it as I should/could be. Or I suppose i should say i am very limited in the time periods i study. I mostly stick to the first couple of centuries after Christ, but that is a more recent fixation. When i was a kid, it was less defined.
  6. jrr tolkien:
    The Other Man!! Lewis’s fellow Inkling has provided me with many many happy hours of escape and he is just brilliant. And anyone who had a hand in Lewis’s conversion is way up there in my estimation.
  7. middle earth:
    The destination of those many hours of escape. Next to Narnia, this is one of the most frequently visited “lands that never were” for me.
  8. prismacolor:
    The king of colored pencils. Does anything else blend as well?
  9. star trek:
    Ok, so my geekdom was started early when I watched all of the re-runs of the original with the ‘rents at the age of 2. We sat around the set as a family for the pilot of ST:TNG. I still drink Earl Grey because of Capt. Picard.
  10. weird al:
    Does genius really need explanation? the dude is my hero. Those of you who familiar with my penchant for parodies, well, there’s my inspiration.

Enter your LJ user name, and 10 interests will be selected from your interest list.

Tagged: ,

§ 12 Responses to Memeage snagged from sandicomm

  • sandicomm says:

    Heh. The Man. I have to admit, I think Lewis is my ideal man, well, would be without all the smoking and extremely Christian stuff. Heh. ^^;;;;
    But otherwise, interestink interests. If you want a really great overview of world history, check out The Story of Mankind. It was written for children, but is just as complex as any history book for adults, with the plus that it’s readable and entertaining. (Although I’m a bit dissapointed that Jews only get one chapter and are barely heard from again, but I guess we have to get over the fact that we’re not that important after all. ;))

  • koinegeek says:

    *high5s* for all your descriptions πŸ™‚
    I do wonder what theological errors of Lewis you mean. I haven’t read all of his books, but intend to. *curious*

  • Anonymous says:

    “I still drink Earl Grey because of Capt. Picard.”
    Oh thank heaven, I’m not the only crazy person in this world. πŸ˜€

  • julieatnu says:

    Ooopses! That was me.

  • DT says:

    Although I’m a bit dissapointed that Jews only get one chapter and are barely heard from again, but I guess we have to get over the fact that we’re not that important after all. πŸ˜‰
    Not that important?? Jews were the only world nation handpicked by God for His purposes. How many people can boast the Messiah? (Even if you don’t believe He’s come yet.) πŸ˜‰

  • DT says:

    wellll… When I say errors, much of christendom today would disagree with me. Lewis didn’t re-invent the wheel– his made his errors honest, by simply falling in line with the Anglican Church. Not that I’m picking on Anglicans, mind you. These are the same errors common to the Evangelical community today, who have followed traditions going back to Augustine (bane of my existance)– such as Christians going to war (touchy subject I know) but it is something that was not only discouraged in the early church, but not allowed by Christ’s teachings and those of the apostles. Augustine was the brilliant dude who came up with the concept of a “holy war.” It was unheard of before him, and Christians before him would have been appalled at the concept. Now, the “religious right” are among the biggest war-mongers on the planet. It’s a sin. Literally.
    I have a lot of nit-picky things like that with Lewis. But they are the same nit-picky things I have with today’s church.

  • DT says:

    Do you always say in your mind “Tea, Earl Grey, Hot,” before you take a steaming cup out of the microwave? *sheepish* I do.

  • koinegeek says:

    In my opinion, Lewis’ experiences in World War I probably shaped his views too. I imagine many, even Christians, viewed fighting in either world wars as a righteous and just thing. While I agree with you regarding the bane of Augustine, especially against the concept of holy war, is there no instance where a Christian should answer the call into military service, either in peace or war?
    When I hear “religious right”, I also include Islamic and other religious extremists, as they are the instigators of most of the active military conflicts at this time.

  • DT says:

    …is there no instance where a Christian should answer the call into military service, either in peace or war?
    Awesome question!! And the one more Christians should ask themselves. The Christians of the first century did encounter this, because Rome would call people up for service.
    Christians that were in the military prior to coming to Christ would often opt to leave the service. They were not required to (by scripture, or the traditions of the church) but since the army of the day was pretty much at peace (Pax Romana) and didn’t necessarily automatically mean going to war, it wasn’t such a big deal. They were mostly busy building those massive roads, and acting as policemen. Christians were only required to abstain from harming another person. So if their orders conflicted with those commands (turning the other cheek, etc.) then they had to decline.
    Clement and Tertullian actually make statements addressing these things to to the Romans when the Romans complained that Christians would not join the military and “defend the king.” They basically said that we have a very important job in supporting and defending the king through our prayers and petitions on their behalf. I’ll find those quotes for you, and probably make that one of my next “controversial posts.”

  • Anonymous says:

    Please. Just because some crazy guy goes around preaching that there’s one god doesn’t mean we were handpicked by God. πŸ˜› (But, seriously, you should check out that book. It’s so good.)

  • sandicomm says:

    Ooops. That was me. I forgot to log in. πŸ˜›

  • sandicomm says:

    Heh, I was about to ask you what “errors” Jack-sama had made too. Now I know. I also see that’s where the Quakers got that from. (Quakers are so awesome. Seriously.) So you’re saying, in other words, that Augustine invented the jihad?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Memeage snagged from sandicomm at Cultured Mama.

meta

