Pot pie and AC

July 20, 2006 § 9 Comments

So me and the doggies are taking refuge in the bedroom/computer room upstairs so that I can run the AC full blast and we can keep cool without air conditioning the whole rest of the house. It’s a tad warm today. And brilliant me decided to make a pot pie which only made the downstairs even hotter. And i have to wait for it to cool down to eat it. Cause it’s frickin’ hot. We need to go food shopping.

I have a question for you folks. What is the craziest thing someone has ever talked you into, or something that you later realized you shouldn’t have done, and that maybe that person had some control over you that you hadn’t realized you had given?

I guess for me, it would be giving into my friends and doing drugs and getting involved in witchcraft. It was years ago, and I’ve since repented and moved on, but I see how much influence I allowed another person to have over my own thinking– doing things I had strong convictions against.

I’m just wondering how people get sucked into cults and led down the primrose path to their own death and destruction. How does a rational person find themselves waiting for the comet aliens to take them away? And are any of us immune to that sort of influence?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Pot pie and AC

  • For me, it’s relative recent, and would be trading with someone I met on LJ for several things by buying her goods she wanted, mainly from eBay, in exchange for things such as videogames, and a full fursuit. Cost me a lot, and my parents are somewhat bitter about how I’ve spent my Social Security money. It’s technically my dad’s since it’s in his name yet is deposited into my checking account, though I believe possession is 9/10ths of the law 😛

  • DT says:

    Do you mind if I ask how you have become the recipient of his SS checks?

  • Because I’m autistic and thus considered disabled by the State of Texas…I am, however, working for a Bachelor’s and intend to work after college.

  • DT says:

    Ah, I see. I’m working on getting SS for my bi-polar right now. I’m in school right now, but I’m not sure what I’ll do with the degree once I’m done.
    BTW, how did you come to friend me?

  • Likely because you’re ‘s mate.

  • I think people get sucked into things like cults because they are so desperate to belong to something and to be liked by others.
    I honestly can say that I haven’t done anything I’ve regretted.

  • ashenfox says:

    I’ve talked myself into most of the crazy stuff I’ve ever done. One time I trespassed on private property along with a group of friends…though we could have claimed, if caught, that we had permission (some one of us knew the owner)…but we were never caught. That was mainly peer pressure, although it was more dangerous for me if I’d decided to follow the letter of the law. I might have been stranded in the middle of nowhere on a very hot day.

  • i just noticed that you added me. any particular reason or just b/c of the _ljchristians thing? added you back.
    and lol @ the use of the word “courting” on your userinfo, haven’t heard that word in awhile. 🙂

  • DT says:

    Partly because of teh ljchristians thing– I looked up your journal and read some of your entries. I’m on a friending kick lately, so I added you– hope you don’t mind!
    Yeah the courting thing was rather a concious effort on mine and my husband’s part. We had both decided that “dating” as the world does it these days is rather counter-productive, and doesn’t honor God. SO we kinda took an old fashioned approach– he asked my father’s permission to see me and everything– even though I was 29 and he was 34 at the time!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pot pie and AC at Cultured Mama.

meta

