Who is ultimately responsible?

October 25, 2006 § 10 Comments

In this article about German police dragging crying homeschoolers into class, the Germans defend themselves with all this garbage about the responsibility of “educating the children” and so forth.

Well who is truly responsible for educating any child? Shouldn’t it ultimately be the parents? Yes we have public schools but those quite frankly are a new developement in human history and it’s not really the state’s responsibility to educate the children. And while it is nice that they want to do that, it’s really actually quite terrifying that ultimately what they will end up doing is completely indoctrinating a whole generation. As Hitler intended. And as Hitler in fact DID.

It can and will happen again.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Who is ultimately responsible?

  • That’s just…wrong.

  • q2rookie says:

    I completely agree with you, it’s the parent’s responsibility to educate their children.
    Dragging a crying child to school is a horrible experience for that child though, wow…

  • DT says:

    Dragging a crying child to school is a horrible experience for that child though, wow…
    Plus, it will undermine the child’s trust for authority/the state… which… the direction things seem to be taking…

  • hearmemeep says:

    The only argument I could really give to this article is that, if I’m not mistaken, Germany works much like other European countries in that they use the voucher system. This way, parents are able to choose which schools their kids can go to, whether it be a Christian private school, a boarding school, or a public school.
    While I do believe that homeschooling should be an option, it’s not as though there aren’t several different school options being offered to parents for free. In the US, you have to pay a hell of allot to send your kid to a private Christian academy, as opposed to several places in Europe and Australia where parents have the option to send their kid to a private Christian school for free.
    I was told by someone at one point that you even have the option to send your kid to a different private school outside of their own country in Europe if you don’t feel as though any of the local schools are teaching the values you want your child to be taught. Of course, that gets into a bit of a touchy subject since I know several parents who wouldn’t want to send their kid to another country just so they can go to school.
    It’s horrible that the kids were dragged into the school, but I do wonder how much prior notice the authorities gave these families. I still think the families should have the option of home schooling, but it may not be quite as bad as what this article makes it out to be….. or at least I hope :/

  • DT says:

    Considering that they are trying to enforce laws that were specifically put into effect by Hitler, who did have an agenda, I think there is a problem here. The line that really got me was the person who said that they were trying to avoid parents raising their children up to be some kind of “alternative society.” That sounds like a heck of a lot of pressure to conform to whatever the German government deems to be “proper” society… um… kinda what the whole Nazi party was all about.
    Granted, they are not the US, they are not happy slappy Americans with our same views on life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, but there are some basic human rights issues at stake here that are being whittled away at.
    My point tho, is that when we place the education of our children in the hands of the state, we put all control of them into their hands as well… and they will do whatever they see fit. They have 6-8 hours a day five days a week to indoctrinate them however they wish. This is why Germany is insistent upon mandatory attendance. And it’s all well and good to say you have freedom of choice as to what schools your child goes to, but if the curriculum must be approved by the State, what battle have you really won? How much control have you truly maintained over your child’s education? They will continue to chip away until there is no difference between a religious school and a public school (or just have religious schools banned entirely.)
    That’s how the Communists took over and the Nazis–take over the schools and start with a fresh mobile generation… it’s not like it hasn’t been done before, and can’t ever happen again. It’s only a matter of time till it all repeats itself. Even here in the US. It’ll get there. The rumblings have already begun.

  • hearmemeep says:

    Oy… how to word this without sounding like I’m meaning something else *laughs* I’m going to try here…. I hope I’m not read wrong (I have a hard time sometimes portraying what I’m trying to say in typing and having it come out sounding wrong, if you know what I mean 🙂 )
    First let me give you some background here… one of my closest friends (and someone who’s like a big sister to me) was born, raised, and still lives in Dresden, Germany. I met her online and eventually got the opportunity to travel to Dresden on several occassions to visit her. While there, I always ended up staying with her and her family and getting a huge dose of German culture up-close and personal.
    However, keep in mind that Dresden is in Eastern Germany, which means that it was behind the Berlin Wall when it still existed. That means that they tend to be a bit behind in progress as compaired to Western Europe (the tales Annette tells me of what life was like before the Berlin wall came down are quite frightening and model the type of society you’re describing that you fear this school thing could lead to).
    I’m just saying that for you to keep in mind with the rest of what I’m saying, k? 🙂 Keep in mind that my perspective is from Eastern Germany, so I might be incorrect in assuming the rest of Germany is a particular way (Western Germans tend to be a bit different from what I’ve seen)
    Granted, they are not the US, they are not happy slappy Americans with our same views on life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, but there are some basic human rights issues at stake here that are being whittled away at.

    Their views may not be identical to Americans, but their culture is very much becoming intigrated with American culture. American pop and movie stars are a huge part in German culture now. Honestly, I didn’t see much of a difference between Germany and America culture-wise while there, except that they tended to have more of a deep-rooted past as opposed to America’s young lifespan.
    Actually, the only other big difference I can see is that religion isn’t exactly a top priority over there (that might very by region). Most Germans have that ‘American dream’ of becoming successful in what they want to do in life. This isn’t too unusual… several countries around the world are becoming increasingly influenced by American culture. Somehow it’s contageous *laughs*
    But as far as your concern about Germans drifting back into Nazism, one of the things I learned by talking to Annette and several other German friends is that nazism for them is a shameful time to their history. When I was looking for a t-shirt that had a German flag on it, I had a hard time finding one. Annette informed me that the reason was because, “Why would we wear something like that? That would look like German pride, and we’re NOT ALLOWED to have pride in our country after the holocaust.”
    There was probably a dose of sarcasm in that (her accent makes it hard to tell some tones of voice with her English), but the point was clear – it’s a part of history that they’re never going to be allowed to forget.
    That being said, if this article is being accurate (the only reason I doubt it is because some of the ways things are worded in the article make it sound bias…. maybe it’s just the way I’m reading it) then you can be assured that with press coverage like this, German citizens are definately going to take notice and go, “Um… wait a minute….!”
    I would be more concerned about it happening here in the US, quite frankly. Our schools are already going down the drain (ranking very low compaired to other countries) and all we need is for the government to say, “Too many people are homeschooling, taking away public school support…. no more of this!”
    But honestly, I believe that everyone should have the ability to homeschool, regardless of where they are or which country they’re in. Hopefully this is just an incident in the city discussed in the article. Regardless, I hope they deal with it soon before any other country gets any ideas :/

  • DT says:

    Actually, I totally hear what you are saying, and completely understand… and really, what you are saying is in line with what I’m trying to say… because I’m not really concerned that Germany specifically will repeat themselves (that is not likely given WWII and it’s aftermath) but it is plausible for Western nations and the US specifically… that is actually what I’m really concerned about.

  • hearmemeep says:

    Exactly. Oy vey… I’m all for the voucher system being used in the US, but the only issue that would be of a concern is that it would cause the US to try to eliminate homeschooling, which would worry me.

  • qt3_14159 says:

    Been there, done that. I’ve had to, in the past, literally drag my son to school. He’s five, and sometimes he just doesn’t want to go. And although I would love to not have to do that kind of thing…since I’m the single mom type, I have to go to work. ::sigh:: I, at least, have an option though. At least I’m ALLOWED to school him at home…if I can ever get someone to pay all my bills. I’ve decided I need a rich uncle to die and leave me all of his money…but I don’t have a rich uncle. ::grin::

  • rachelute says:

    I didn’t read the article just yet – perhaps later when I have more time – but I really do believe that ultimately it isn’t the system’s responsibility to make sure that children get the education they deserve…especially in the realm of morals and sex-ed…but that’s another story…
    Parents need to definitely be more involved in their children’s lives and not just blindly let the system guide them [the kids] into their beliefs [and then complain later about how unmoral they are…].

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Who is ultimately responsible? at Cultured Mama.

meta

