Oh that wacky political system

February 5, 2008 § 15 Comments

Today I did NOT vote. I actually haven’t voted in… several years now. I used to vote. Oh how I voted. I would go down to the polls and feel all patriotic and dutiful and stuff. I proudly carried my voter’s registration card around with me in my wallet, and am convinced it saved me when I was put on trial by Q for the crimes of humanity. Ok, so maybe it wasn’t for the crimes of humanity but rather failure to obey a traffic device. And alright, so it wasn’t actually Q, but the judge did bear a rather striking (and considering the circumstances, frightening) resemblance to John DeLancie. But that is neither here nor there.

The reason I do not vote is actually two-fold. At some point, I came to the conclusion that it is WORK to suss out where a politician really stands on all issues, and also where I stand on all issues. I mean, half of the stuff these guys talk about I simply do not think about day to day. How often am I faced with immigration issues? I mean, really?

So the lazy part of me was already starting to lean towards chucking it in on this whole political … thing.

But, being an analytical thinking person, even my lazy part could not be justified. I think. I can’t help it. and as I reasoned out issues and topics and weighed and sifted, it occurred to me that (at the time) neither of the Presidential contenders truly stood for … well… ME. I could not in good conscience vote for either option.

Oh, I know what folks will say, if you don’t vote, you can’t complain; choose the lesser of two evils; he who does not exercise his rights will soon lose them; etc. etc. But a true ethical dilemma and moral question began to formulate.

For instance, in the case of the Bush vs. Gore campaign: Life was my primary issue. I could not support someone who was for abortion. But I also couldn’t support someone who was for the death penalty.

See my quandary? Either way, I was voting to support *someone’s* death. Innocent or guilty, I do not support death.

Well, I thought and prayed about it, and eventually came to the conclusion that there are many things that I believe that do not fit in the political arena. And that there is NO candidate who fully exemplifies everything that I hold dear– and in fact, if there WAS one, I wouldn’t vote for him/her because I so STRONGLY believe in a separation of Church and State and don’t believe they belong in office. Indeed that means that I will not vote for a Christian, because I do not believe Christians should hold office.

Radical, I know.

Turns out I’m not the first or only one to feel this way. I started to look into this and it turns out that historically, the Christians of the first couple of centuries believed the same way– you could not take office once you had become a Christian. And later on, the Anabaptists would revive this understanding and tradition.

So I’m not the only one. And I feel very good about my decision.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 15 Responses to Oh that wacky political system

  • tacky_tramp says:

    One of my dearest friends in the world is in your shoes — she believes abortion and the death penalty should be illegal, so in today’s political climate, she has no one to vote for.
    And I don’t think you’re disqualified from making political commentary just because you don’t vote. Like you said, you have opinions. And you have a very well thought out reason for not voting. It’s just that you don’t feel comfortable voting for someone who doesn’t match up with your values pretty strongly. Makes sense to me.

  • hearmemeep says:

    Oh wow… you don’t believe Christians should hold office? That is quite an ‘outrageous’ belief compared to the rest of my f-list *laughs*
    I’m of the belief that if a Christian holds office, they should do what’s best for their country’s people as a whole, not what’s best for only the Christian people as a whole.
    Our preacher actually gave a speech on this a few Sundays ago, using the ‘render unto Caesar what is Caesar’s’ argument. God cares what the individual person does by choice in their spiritual life, not what they did because man’s law forced them to do so.
    Bleh, but now I’m on a soapbox 😛 I do plan to vote in November, but I understand where you’re coming from.

  • DT says:

    Thanks. I have so many folks who try to argue that I’m doing more harm than good by not voting. I figure that most of the nation wouldn’t like the kind of stuff I would vote for. I very much do not believe in legislating morality.

  • tacky_tramp says:

    Then you should vote for Democrats.
    I KID, I KID! 😀

  • DT says:

    I’m of the belief that if a Christian holds office, they should do what’s best for their country’s people as a whole, not what’s best for only the Christian people as a whole.
    I would have to say that it is very difficult for a Christian to hold office and not compromise their faith.
    I would also contend that most of those who are currently in office or seeking it, while perhaps sincere, are of a faith that is already compromised.
    But I apply that to the majority of what is called Christendom today. 😉

  • DT says:

    😛
    Silly! If it weren’t for the fact that the Dems are as much up folks wallets as the Republicans are up… other things, I might would consider it.
    I have issues with both sides. Major issues. lol

  • hearmemeep says:

    True, true 🙂 Though in a predominately Christian country (whether or not the term “Christian” really means anything more than ‘I believe in a God’ to some people… :P), it’s kind of hard to find politicians that don’t at least profess that faith. Seeing politicians that live up to the claim? That’s a rarity indeed 🙂

  • kengara says:

    I do not believe Christians should hold office.
    Oh wow 😮 Actually I wondered whether you might believe that, after considering your beliefs on Christianity and pacifism and such! And I can’t say I disagree, really. What would a Christian country be like; could one exist? Maybe not.

  • DT says:

    What would a Christian country be like; could one exist?
    You raise a very valid question. I guess you could say I hold to the old “two kingdom” doctrine. Basically, when you come right down to it, there are really only two Kingdoms in this world. God’s Kingdom and Satan’s/ You can only belong to one or the other, and if you belong to one, you are not part of the other.
    Unfortunately, Christians have been trying to mix those kingdoms for the better part of the last two millenia. And it can’t– shouldn’t– be done.
    By trying create a “godly nation” in the world, issues get confused, muddled, and faith becomes compromised. We already *have* a godly nation that we belong to upon baptism. It’s time we started living like it.

  • hearmemeep says:

    Spoken very nicely 🙂

  • u_t_tiger says:

    You said: Christians are not supposed to take oaths (Matt 5:33-35) or judge the life or character of anyone
    Yet with your reply to Hearmemeep, you have judged the life and character of almost every Christian.
    (I’ll have more replies after my nap)

  • kengara says:

    Yeah, that’s pretty much what I thought. How would a Christian nation even work? Where would they get laws for it? Certainly not from the Bible, I would guess. Would there even be laws? Heh.

  • DT says:

    I wrote you in my letter not to associate with immoral people; I did not at all mean with the immoral people of this world, or with the covetous and swindlers, or with idolaters, for then you would have to go out of the world. But actually, I wrote to you not to associate with any so-called brother if he is an immoral person, or covetous, or an idolater, or a reviler, or a drunkard, or a swindler–not even to eat with such a one. For what have I to do with judging outsiders? Do you not judge those who are within the church? But those who are outside, God judges. 1 Corinthians 5:9-13
    We are not to judge those of this world, but we are commanded to judge amongst our own ranks. But we need to make sure that we are coming from a place of love and wisdom, full of grace, mercy and God’s Spirit.
    We also need discernment and a load of other things that I haven’t seen broadly exercise.
    That’s not a judgment, that’s an observation.

  • kengara says:

    By the way… why do you oppose the death penalty? Curious.

  • DT says:

    Well, there are several reasons. First of all, I would like to state that I understand that there must be a system of justice in place for any society in which crimes are punished and that every society has the freedom to choose how lax or stringent that system will be.
    I also understand why there is a death penalty, and there is a part of me that still feels the justice of putting one who commits heinous atrocities to death.
    That being said, there is also the rational part of me that knows that the system is broken and corrupt in many ways, and there are many folks who have been condemned to death unjustly or mistakenly. In this day and age, that is just inexcusable.
    But really it boils down to this. I will neither work for nor against this world’s system of punishment– it is what it is. Whether I lived in a society that approves of it or not, my personal walk is affected only so much as this: Do I by word or deed cause an action that condemns another to death? My only concern is in whether I am turning the other cheek; if I am loving my enemies and praying for them; if I am repaying evil with good; if I do not resist the evil man.
    As long as I am doing that, I am doing my duty and obeying His commands. Society will do as it wills.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oh that wacky political system at Cultured Mama.

meta

