LJIdol Week Zero Introduction

September 18, 2008 § 25 Comments

In the spirit of honest introductions, I shall introduce myself with the fact that I hate doing introductions. I never know what to say, or whether I’ve said too much or not enough. Also, I have a sneaking suspicion that I am actually a closeted lover of self-intros since everyone really does love to talk about themselves. I just don’t like admitting that, or indulging my secret passion for self-aggrandizement.

For instance, I really am uncomfortable with the greeting, “How are you?” because people generally don’t want to know how you are, and if you breach protocol and give them the run down, they think you are weird. Perhaps I am a touch awkward that way.

So there you go, I am a closeted narcissist with social anxiety who thinks waaaay too much about things. Your typical run of the mill geek, in the flesh.

Some basic stats:

I will be 33 this month.
I am married.
I am opening my own business– a coffeehouse.
I am sensitive to caffeine and therefore cannot drink my own product (much.)
I ❤ irony.
I am passionate about religion, history, animals, food and children, though not necessarily in that order.

linked to therealljidol

Tagged: ,

§ 25 Responses to LJIdol Week Zero Introduction

  • rosepurr says:

    My neighborhood desperately needs a coffeeshop.

  • silver_nyssa says:

    I so wish your coffee shop was opening in my home town, I think it sounds really neat.

  • : ) @ your introduction. I’m so glad you’re in, too.
    about your history interest (not sure if I’ve asked you this or not), I’m going to read A people’s history of the US pretty soon – at least before the year is over – and I wondered if you had read that book and if you think it would be good for someone who needs to be better educated about history to read. I’m also interested in a world history book recommendation or an ancient civilizations history book recommendation. Something that says it pretty much like it is, rather than parody (at my level of education, that goes over my head right now) and also something that will get me educated enough to at least know what people are talking about in reference to history.
    I recently got more political and read some economics books referring to history and a law book referring to history, and I have NO CLUE how I passed HS history tests given how little I know in the subject. The “My history teachers were all coaches” excuse just doesn’t jive anymore given that it’s now really my responsibility to educate myself about things that I believe I need to be more educated about.

  • Seconded. : ) Our local coffee shop here is really not a great place in my opinion. Everyone seems to like it (college/high school students), but it’s really not very posh at all and has the atmosphere of a High School cafeteria.

  • DT says:

    I am of the opinion that every neighborhood should have one. They are Teh Awesome.

  • DT says:

    Well you will just have to move here.
    oh SNAP I told you!! 😛
    This just gives you more incentive to visit me, now doesn’t it?

  • DT says:

    Posh is what we are all about here– but still homey and comfy and affordable and nice. My coffeehouse is an outward expression of my internal landscape. Which… I suppose could be very scary as well…

  • DT says:

    *curtsy* Thank you! I haven’t read other intros yet, so I have to get on the ball. i think this is going to be really fun!
    The history text question is a tough call– I’m not well versed in most modern history books, and tend to eschew a lot of stuff as revisionist fluff. A great book I read… is eluding me at the moment. I can’t remember the title… I will, and then message you with it when I remember!!
    My history tastes tend to run to church history, and of that early church history, so I’m rather narrow and selective in the history for which I seek knowledge. But I love learning about all eras and seeing where we came from, and figuring out wher we are going.
    I used to be very political, especially in middle and high school, but have since become staunchly apolitical, more due to religious conviction than anything else. But I still manage to have rather strong opinions about many things. 😉

  • DT says:

    Thank you! And right back atcha!

  • bojojoti says:

    I allow myself one coffee a month. Last Friday, I ordered my usual large at the local coffee house, and I was given a 32 oz. cup that cost me $8! Since when did a large coffee come in 32 oz. size? The place had recently changed hands. I guess I know to ask about the size next time!
    I love coffee shops. I hope your opening is exceptionally grand.

  • I’d love to run a coffee shop, so you’ve sparked my interest! I’ll be looking forward to reading your entries.

  • DT says:

    Yes, many of my posts these days are coffeehouse-centric– this is our first foray into business ownership so we are stumbling along blindly, but it is an adventure!
    I think this is going to be very interesting. I’ve never participated in anything like lj idol, so I’m excited!

  • rosepurr says:

    Yes, that’s true. 🙂

  • DT says:

    GAH!! Who needs 32 oz of coffee??? That’s insane! Of course, I can’t finish a 12 oz cup, so I’m a little biased, but still. And $8 is ludicrous.
    I’m charging a buck 50 for our small (12 oz) and that’s waaay below Fivebucks’ (Starbucks) pricing. But it seriously cost 41 cents to make a cup. How much profit does one person need? Everyone’s a critic, though–I’ve already had someone say my prices are too high. *eyeroll*
    Our large is 20 oz, and that seems extreme to me.

  • bojojoti says:

    Your prices are wonderful! Don’t allow anyone to let you lower them. McDonald’s cost more than that!

  • bewize says:

    Good luck with your new coffeehouse. And it’s nice to meet you.

  • kelly0182 says:

    Well now, happy birthday!

  • DT says:

    Thank you! Nice to meet you as well!

  • You and I share several interests. I’m looking forward to meeting you through your entries in LJIdol. Good luck!

  • spydielives says:

    After my last major illness I swore I would never answer mechanically, “Fine” to the question “How are you?” If we are friends, we are past social greasing. If we are strangers, then we are not intimate for that kind of sharing.

    [desc: This is an old oil painting of three red ribbons cross a black background and hold in an assortment of small items including a comb, feather, a bit of jewelry, a hat pin, some papers, a pair of scissors, and so on. Text at the top reads “Thank you for sharing.” Text at the bottom reads “Spydie Lives”]

  • ahavah_ehyeh says:

    I agree about the ‘how are you’ dilemma these days! That’s why I never ever answer with “Fine.”
    Very nice meeting you. Good luck on lj idol!

  • kittenboo says:

    i hate the “how are you question” very much, because i feel like i never have a real answer

  • java_fiend says:

    Right on! Good luck with the coffee house! If you were in my area, I’d absolutely frequent it. “Mom n Pop” shops are where it’s at… so much better than the big corporate chains!
    Sounds like we’ve got some similar interests! Best of luck to you this season and I’ll look forward to your entries!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading LJIdol Week Zero Introduction at Cultured Mama.

meta