In which I make people angry and beat the hornets’ nest.

September 19, 2008 § 17 Comments

I heard a very disturbing statistic this evening. The quote was that 90% of Downs Syndrome babies are aborted in this country. My first reaction was, “That cannot be true!” My second reaction was to burst into tears. So I’m looking into it to see what the facts are.

And now let me say, since people all over my flist are freaking out over Palin and so on and so forth, I don’t care about any of that. I do not plan to vote in the upcoming election. I feel very strongly about Christians involving themselves in government.

That being said, I still have an opinion about such things. Regardless of who leads this country, let me be very clear about how I believe.

Abortion is evil.

I know folks who think that people who feel that way are evil, and I don’t care to get into debates on semantics or world views. My paradigm is that abortion is murder, murder is evil, and therefore, abortion is evil. Yes, I want it to stop. I wish we did not live in a world where murder took place, or rape or incest or (and let me be plain) SELFISHNESS occurred on a day to day basis. No, I do not believe women are walking incubators, blah blah blah, but I do believe in personal responsibility, and most certainly in respecting all life, and since I believe that life begins at conception, I definitely believe those who do not have a voice should be spoken for.

We are walking blithely down the path that leads to exposing our infants on a rock because they aren’t what we wanted or are inconvenient. It’s already being done in Obama’s home state– by his approval.

I very strongly feel that all life is sacred, and there is never a good reason to kill anyone. I don’t believe in the death penalty, I don’t believe in war, I don’t even believe in fighting back if I am assaulted. I am under direct orders from the God I follow to turn the other cheek, love my enemies, love in the face of persecution, love those who would hate me, who would KILL me, and LOVE LOVE LOVE. Christians are called out of this world, but commanded to remain in it as ambassadors and emissaries. These are His commands to those who would choose to follow Him, and so I do my best to be obedient.

For those of you who are not Christians who disagree with me, we are separated by a gulf that is fathomless and can only be crossed one way. I do no expect you to understand or agree with my perspective. I love you, and do not judge you for your understanding of the nature of things nor do I look down on you or condemn you. I sorrow for our disagreement, and weep for the lives devastated and destroyed by this awful state of affairs.

For those of you who are Christians who disagree with me, I say SHAME ON YOU!! Centuries of quibbling over scripture and theology have rendered this generation of Christians the worst group of hate-mongering, disobedient hypocrites that has ever been the laughingstock of the unbelievers– with perhaps the exception of the Crusades and the Inquisition. I know many on my list who are Christians who do not ascribe to how I see things. But I tell you now, we will ALL be judged by whether or not we really truly followed Jesus’ commands to us. And if we played games with any of it, I can guarantee we are not going to like the judgment we receive. Such important teachings as turning the other cheek and loving our enemies have been reduced to so many loathsome platitudes; like Jesus was just being cute when He gave the Sermon on the Mount.

A time is coming when those who call themselves Christians will come under a real brutal honest to goodness attack for our beliefs. Pray to God that you are understanding Him correctly, and being persecuted good and honestly. No one gets points for being beaten for being a hypocrite.

Yes, my words are harsh, and I am angry. I am spitting mad that anyone would dare call themselves a follower of Christ, and then throw out 9/10ths of what He taught. You can’t agree to disagree with God. He doesn’t operate that way. If you think Augustine was right when he described a just war, you are WRONG. If you think God left a comma hanging 2000 years ago, WRONG.

The ones He condemns to Hell aren’t going to be the bad people, they will be the bullheaded goats who did it their way, and didn’t obey Him.

If you think killing a defective, inconvenient or “wrongfully conceived” baby is ok, if you think blowing away your enemy is fine and dandy, if you think you can justify your flesh, and STILL think you can call yourself His follower, you are wrong.

I know this is going to piss a lot of people off, and at the moment I am ok with that. You may un-friend me if you like, but that will not change the truth of what I have to say. If you have a hardened heart, have that much hate (and thereby that little love) that you can toy with your Lord’s clear admonitions, by all means, do it your way. He is the one Who said, “If you love Me, you will keep my commands.” Not me.

To non-Christians, I believe what I believe because of my faith– if you lack that faith, I cannot convince you otherwise, and so I do not even try.

To those who would call themselves such, our disagreements are personal, and ultimately not a philosophical debate. If you believe in Truth, there can be only one, and we all can’t be right.

§ 17 Responses to In which I make people angry and beat the hornets’ nest.

  • bojojoti says:

    I believe that I am called to be a part of the governmental process–along the lines of all that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good people to do nothing. I respect your desire to remain separate from politics, but I don’t understand it.

  • kelly0182 says:

    Finally, someone on LJ with beliefs I can relate to! I was horrified the other day when I read an entry bashing McCain and Palin for being prolife. I actually read somone call an unborn child a paracite and not a person and I wanted to cry. You try telling a couple who has suffered a miscarriage that their baby is a paracite and not a person.

  • kingodin says:

    I definitely feel somewhat personally about the issue, since I’m on the autism spectrum, and many autism groups that allegedly want to “help” people with autism want to establish prenatal screening for the condition, which I feel would cause a similar fate of my kin. I somewhat think my mother would have aborted me if she knew about my condition before I was born, because I remember arguing with her about it, and she asked me, “What if the baby was disabled?” Life is a gift, not a choice.

  • DT says:

    I came to this conclusion based on the scriptures that call us to remain separate from this world, to come out from among them, being strangers in a strange land, sojourners, and “what place does light have with darkness.” After I started studying the early Christians (the first two-three centuries after Christ), i was shocked to discover how literally they took those writings, and just how far– folks who were involved in government usually stepped down after becoming a Christian, and it was on the list of “forbidden professions” and you weren’t allowed to go into politics after you had been baptized– to do so could lead to excommunication.
    Many writings can be found from the 1st, 2nd, and even 3rd century explaining why, how it was a conflict of interest for Christians to serve in politics, since the demands of this world are vastly different from those of Christ. They would cite, “You can’t serve two masters” and they also pointed out the requirements of office that were in conflict with Jesus’ commands. Also, they considered it an uneven yoking, “marrying” oneself to the world, so to speak.
    Our impact on the world will come from without, not from within.
    If it is something you think you would like to learn more about, I could send you the scriptures and the references form the folks who were directly discipled by the Apostles (or at least within a few generations) on this topic.
    Much of Christendom today disagrees with me on this topic, but the Anabaptist groups (most of them) realigned themselves with this teaching shortly after the Protestant Reformation.

  • DT says:

    That is very scary, Jeremy. And unfortunately, this is the kind of holocaust going on right now. It’s a eugenic genocide. and it will grow, make no mistake.

  • DT says:

    I know. I have several people on my list who feel that way. It boggles the mind.

  • celandineb says:

    I’m having trouble responding to this, my hands are shaking too badly.
    If you do not think women are walking incubators, and believe in responsibility, how can you think it appropriate for a woman who has been raped to be forced to carry that criminal’s child? SHE is not responsible, but she will be punished, forced to live with a symbol of her own victimhood for the rest of her life. That is not an act of love.
    And you do know that it’s not conception until implantation, right? So are you okay with morning-after pills to at least prevent pregnancy from rape?

  • DT says:

    I know that you don’t agree with me. And I can understand why. But I also don’t feel it is my job to convince you of anything. That’s why I don’t get involved in politics– I do not believe it is my job to dictate morality. Those who do not agree with me won’t listen to me anyway, and will only wind up resenting me for my efforts.
    I feel my job is to be an emissary of my beliefs to those who have ears to hear it. Do I believe they are true for everyone? Absolutely; but I also know enough to know that most people will reject them anyway, no matter what I do or say. I need to speak the truth in love, and be there as an ambassador of healing to those who have been the victims of such evil as there is in the world; to love them, be a conduit of healing, and to help lead folks into a way that has an answer to all of life’s hurts.
    I know this topic upsets you on a visceral and personal level– as it does me as well. But I do not hate you or think worse of you for thinking and feeling the way you do. We have diametrically opposed paradigms, and a different story for how we have chosen the paths that we are on. I wish you saw things the way I do, of course (as does everyone who believes something passionately) but I also know that it’s not my job to change your mind; just simply to love you and offer you my friendship always, and be there in case you ever do. πŸ™‚
    I believe that this world is cursed and fallen, and that the people that live in it are subject to that curse. Due to this curse, people perpetuate horrific crimes and injustices upon one another, including rape and murder. I do not believe that two wrongs make a right. I do not believe that because an evil was perpetrated upon one person, that person should in turn perpetrate an evil upon another.
    Yes, rape is evil, and brutal, and it seems horrifically unfair to have a constant reminder of the evil that was done. But who is to say that good cannot come out of evil? There are many people who were the “product” of rape who have gone on to live lives of good and make an impact on the world around them, and even on the mothers who bore them.
    I do not at all wish to downplay the horror of such violence and brutality– I neither condone it, nor do I take it lightly. But you must understand that I see the murder of a child, whether it is unborn, just born, or five years old, as equally horrific. They are both equally egregious sins to me. A baby is not a scar to be covered up or removed. A child is not a dirty mark to be expunged.
    The woman in a case of rape or incest is in desperate need of healing, and I contend that abortion will not bring about the healing she so desperately needs– it compounds the brutality and violence that has already occurred and heaps upon the woman more shame and guilt. A child, no matter the circumstances of its conception, is always a potential blessing. An abortion strips all potential for healing, reconciliation, and growth right out.
    As far as when conception happens, I believe it is at fertilization, regardless of when implantation occurs. It doesn’t matter to me what is the current prevailing wind on these things. Popular opinion (obviously) doesn’t sway me. I don’t use birth control for the very reason that one of the purposes is to not only prevent fertilization, but implantation.
    I do love you Cel. I hope you can understand that I am sincere in that.

  • bojojoti says:

    I can somewhat see what the early church hoped to accomplish by separation from the government, but God has always put His people in places of power throughout history.
    I understand your belief system, but my heart tells me that I should thoughtfully consider the candidates and choose the one I think will be best for the nation.
    I choose to disagree agreeably with you on this account, but I fully respect and understand your position.

  • celandineb says:

    I do understand that. And just as you wish I would “see the light” as it were, I wish you would too. *sighs* Belief simply does not make something true, however much one might wish it so.
    I’m glad that at least you are consistent in feeling that it’s not your place to force your beliefs on others, and I really wish more of your coreligionists felt the same. I have no great quarrel with what anyone chooses to believe or do for themselves as long as they do not impose those beliefs on others.

  • DT says:

    Belief simply does not make something true, however much one might wish it so.
    *smile* Don’t I know it. Which is why I seek truth to which I might align my beliefs.
    One day, regardless of who is right and wrong, everyone will ultimately discover what is and always has been true. Of course, each of us believes we will be the one vindicated, and one way or the other, someone will be bitterly disappointed.
    According to that which informs my belief system, all of this bickering, dissension and evil will be put to an end one day. No more tears, no more pain. And yes, I do choose to believe this to be true; but it has also been proven to me in many ways– astounding ways, and ways that are so convincing and far-reaching, that to choose unbelief would make me a true fool. But I cannot convince you or anyone with the proofs that have been given to me. I can tell you of them, and I can tell you what proofs others have, but ultimately, we all need proof that convinces us to the core of our being. I definitely believe that kind of proof is supernatural in nature.
    Until someone has been rocked to their foundations over an issue, debate is futile and meaningless. But it does offer a glimpse into how someone has come to their conclusions. Hopefully, at the very least, it fosters respect.

  • DT says:

    I choose to disagree agreeably with you on this account, but I fully respect and understand your position.
    Thank you. πŸ™‚
    I definitely do not think that all Christians everywhere should choose not to vote– I’m the only one (aside from my husband) whom I know of personally to make this choice– my voting issue comes more from knowing there is no candidate who represents me so fully that I would feel comfortable voting for them.
    I could have been quite possibly persuaded to the polls had Ron Paul made the nomination though… πŸ˜‰

  • frodo_esque says:

    I believe that this world is cursed and fallen, and that the people that live in it are subject to that curse. This is where we disagree the greatest. I find the world to be beautiful, blessed, and full of miracles. Of course evil exists in this world, but more often than not, beauty trumps it.

  • celandineb says:

    I definitely believe that kind of proof is supernatural in nature.
    *nods* Right, and since I do not accept the supernatural as proof (quite the contrary), there is nothing along those lines that could possibly convince me. I accept that you think it’s true. Basically we’re just talking at cross-purposes on this point since what I consider proof you believe is irrelevant, and what you think is proof I consider wishful thinking at best.

  • DT says:

    Acknowledging this world as broken does not mean that I don’t appreciate the beauty of God’s handiwork, which cannot be completely overcome by the darkness that surrounds it. As you said, beauty trumps it, but this is because it is His handiwork.
    Jesus and His disciples who wrote down His story, say that He came in order to reverse the curse this world is under– the Curse that began when Adam and Even disobeyed God in the Garden of Eden. When He returns, He has promised to make all things new, restoring the planet, and removing evil from our midst. He expects His followers to help create pockets of this “reversed-curse” state by living as His Kingdom here on earth until His return. We are supposed to be ambassadors of love, healing, and peace.
    Unfortunately, many people who call themselves Christians do not understand this portion of our calling, or pervert what it means to follow Him.

  • DT says:

    I suppose I should have phrased that “Accepting that proof is supernatural in nature.” I was not saying the proof itself is necessarily supernatural. πŸ™‚

  • rachelute says:

    While I don’t entirely agree with every little bit in the post, I agree in most of it and certainly in the spirit in which it was written. I’ve heard that statistic about down syndrome babies, too – and in some countries, since dowries are still paid and women aren’t valued, many babies are aborted just because they are girls [which is actually leading to an imbalance…].
    “I am spitting mad that anyone would dare call themselves a follower of Christ, and then throw out 9/10ths of what He taught. You can’t agree to disagree with God.
    Amen. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In which I make people angry and beat the hornets’ nest. at Cultured Mama.

meta

