My Saturday

October 5, 2008 § 3 Comments

Yesterday was an odd day. We had two events in which to participate, and both were centered around families with young children. First, we were invited along on an outing to the pumpkin patch to pick pumpkins with friends from church. We were the only couple there without children. I didn’t really feel out of place until we are actually in the pumpkin patch and all our friends are taking pics of their little kids picking up pumpkins. That was my “What are we doing here?” moment. Not that we didn’t have a good time; I enjoy going down on the farm, and exploring and stuff. But it was just an odd moment. We also found a lot of local vendors and suppliers for the coffeehouse while there, so it wasn’t a complete waste of time. Always networking, that’s me!

From there we went to my friend-from-high-school’s son’s third birthday party. Again, only childless couple there. It wasn’t awkward or uncomfortable so much as… weird.

I’m finding more and more that my activities are kid-centric, even without having kids of my own. We’ve even been roped into nursery duty at church, and I am now one of the Coordinators for the young toddlers. I don’t mind it– I love kids, and I love my friends’ and family’s kids very much– Aunt Dawn is fun. But I can’t help but see the irony in it. It’s not like when I was the only single gal in my group; when I was the third wheel. It’s different now, and yet just as… odd feeling.

I know no one else thinks anything of it, otherwise they wouldn’t keep inviting us to their kids b-day parties and group outings. I just wonder how we came to be the one childless couple who always participates in children’s events? Just lucky, I guess.

But I haz dragins.

Adopt one today!Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to My Saturday

  • ladyxan says:

    congrats on the networking. =) How is the coffeehouse doing?
    I clickied the eggs and hatchlings… =D

  • bojojoti says:

    My husband and I, by choice, didn’t have children the first five years of marriage. We were very involved with children, and my nieces and nephews filled a wonderful spot in my life.

  • frodo_esque says:

    I know what you mean about things being weird– for me it’s mostly a longing because I love kids! I’m lucky in that I live in a big city with a lot of single girlfriends my age– gives me a great balance. =)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Saturday at Cultured Mama.

meta

