Omnivore’s 100

October 5, 2008 § Leave a comment

from another blog:

How the Omnivore’s 100 Works:

1) Copy this list into your blog or journal, including these instructions.

2) Bold all the items you’ve eaten.

3) Cross out any items that you would never consider eating.


My Omnivore’s Hundred (56/100):

1. Venison

2. Nettle tea

3. Huevos rancheros [I don’t do peppers of any kind. Not a heat thing, I just can’t stand the taste.]

4. Steak tartare

5. Crocodile [I have had alligator, though]

6. Black pudding [Religious thing– I don’t do blood.]

7. Cheese fondue

8. Carp

9. Borscht

10. Baba ghanoush

11. Calamari [One of my absolute fave things to eat]

12. Pho

13. PB&J sandwich

14. Aloo gobi

15. Hot dog from a street cart

16. Epoisses

17. Black truffle

18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes [I have a bottle of apple wine down in the ridge right now]

19. Steamed pork buns

20. Pistachio ice cream

21. Heirloom tomatoes

22. Fresh wild berries

23. Foie gras

24. Rice and beans

25. Brawn or head cheese [Nor will I eat scrapple]

26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper [no thanks; I’m not insane]

27. Dulce de leche

28. Oysters [but I’m not a fan. I’ll only eat them smoked on crackers]

29. Baklava

30. Bagna cauda [I’ll have to try this, it sounds yummy!]

31. Wasabi peas [and I won’t make that mistake again.]

32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl

33. Salted lassi [only ever had mango lassi]

34. Sauerkraut

35. Root beer float

36. Cognac with a fat cigar [who made this up??]

37. Clotted Cream Tea [we wants it Precious, yesss]

38. Vodka Jelly/Jell-O [I think they mean jello shots]

39. Gumbo

40. Oxtail

41. Curried goat

42. Whole insects [If prepared properly, why not?]

43. Phaal [I don’t know what this is; ah — a kind of curry. sounds too hot for my tatstes]

44. Goat’s milk

45. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/$120 or more

46. Fugu [pufferfish–why take the risk?]

47. Chicken tikka masala [another absolute fave]

48. Eel [unagi]

49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut

50. Sea urchin

51. Prickly pear [very tart]

52. Umeboshi

53. Abalone

54. Paneer

55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal [but not for many many moons]

56. Spaetzle

57. Dirty gin martini

58. Beer above 8% ABV

59. Poutine

60. Carob chips

61. S’mores

62. Sweetbreads

63. kaolin [in Kaopectate]

64. Currywurst

65. Durian

66. Frogs’ legs [luv teh frogz legz]

67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake [all of ’em!]

68. Haggis [I’m apprehensive, but I’d try it.]

69. Fried plantain

70. Chitterlings or andouillette

71. Gazpacho

72. Caviar and blini

73. Louche absinthe [No interest in this]

74. Gjetost or brunost [I googled it — sounds good!]

75. Roadkill [Sorry, no. Omnivore doesn’t necessarily indicate scavenger. Nothing found dead for an indeterminate amount of time which was killed due to massive bodily blunt force trauma.]

76. Baijiu [Acc to Wikipedia: “Baijiu is often mistakenly translated as “wine” or “white wine,” but it is actually a distilled liquor, generally about 80 to 120 proof, or 40-60% alcohol by volume (ABV) (ethanol)”. Referring to the roadkill entry, if it can fuel a car, it is equally distasteful to me.]

77. Hostess Fruit Pie

78. Snail [In Paris at my uncle’s wedding, no less]

79. Lapsang Souchong

80. Bellini

81. Tom Yum

82. Eggs Benedict

83. Pocky [not the official version, but I’ve had plenty of chocolate covered pretzels adn cookies, so I think that counts.]

84. 3 Michelin Star Tasting Menu [it’s not likely]

85. Kobe beef

86. Hare [I have had rabbit, though. And Squirrel. *cue “Dueling Banjos”*]

87. Goulash

88. Flowers

89. Horse

90. Criollo chocolate

91. Spam

92. Soft shell crab

93. Rose harissa

94. Catfish

95. Mole poblano

96. Bagel and lox

97. Lobster Thermidor

98. Polenta

99. Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee [there’s better coffee out there]

100. Snake

It’s not on the list, but might I add that I have tasted Thousand Year Old eggs before. Some of you on my friends list were there for that memorable moment. I may never get the taste of decay quite from my palate. But none of the rest of you sissies tried it, if I remember correctly. 😛

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Omnivore’s 100 at Cultured Mama.

meta

