Awake.

November 2, 2008 § 1 Comment

Saturday has been a mixed bag. So much to do, and so very little time in which to do it. We got all the crapola we need to build two walls and two doorways in order to circumvent our ware-washing station/hallway to the bathroom and re-direct traffic flow through the office. Yeah. It’s fun like that.

We also had Home Depot out to give us an estimate on insulating our attic. Dude basically assessed that it would be cheaper for us to do it ourselves within the first two minutes of arriving; since we basically just have two small crawl spaces to insulate. But then he proceeded to hang out and chat for about another half hour. Despite my thanking him, shaking his hand, and otherwise hint hint HINTING that we were done. I was so tired and all I wanted to do was take a nap, time for which he was eating up. Matt shows up with the stuff for the coffeehouse, and this guy just keeps talking, despite the fact that I have ceased to respond anymore, and keep trying to go back into my house. UGH!!! So I didn’t get my nap, and as any of you who have been pregnant knows, napping is NOT AN OPTION with this level of tired. We had too much to do, so I just had to go with Matt to the coffeehouse to unload, and then eat dinner, and then… By the time we got home, I was starting to get cranky. I fell asleep by 8:30.

And then woke up at one. Wide awake. On the night of Daylight Savings Time ending. So we even have an extra hour to sleep in. And I’m wide awake. Feeling wired. And unsettled. And panicky. I don’t feel ready for this level of responsibility, and at the same time, I just want to get this all over with and open. It’s very conflicting.

UPDATE: For those who are interested in the fate of my cracked Macbook, the repair cost for the LCD is about $700. The upgraded version of my current model is $999. Yeah, not worth repairing the LCD. And replacement is not feasible at the moment. The short-term plan is to get a cheap monitor and hook it up that way (which sucks as it defeats the freedom of being a laptop but what are ya gonna do?) and in a couple months, buy a new one and transfer all my data from one to the other. In the meantime, we are sharing Matt’s pc. Fun stuff. Thanks for everyone’s well wishes on that front.

Also, health-wise, I’m finally getting back to some semblance of bowel normalcy, though not quite there yet. I managed to keep well hydrated through the ordeal, so thank you to all who offered their puppies as comfort and support. They were well received!

Speaking of puppies, it was because of a series of videos of barking dogs on youtube that my mother sent me to play for my dog that caused the mishap with the Macbook. Too complicated/stupid to explain, so I will stop there.

Well, I’ve had my milk, and some water, and blogged a little. I think I will pray some, and try to get back to sleep. In the meantime, I leave you with a dog that barks with a British accent.

Happy end of Daylight Savings everyone!

§ One Response to Awake.

  • akktri says:

    High pressure salez
    That’s the nature of salesmen. “Give me what I want, and I’ll go away.” I think the Home Depot guys are paid by the hour, and they’re also trying to nab a sale by hanging out until you give them what they want. There was a vacuum cleaner salesman that came to my house some time ago, and he stayed in our living room for hours, trying to break us down into buying his vacuum. When we refused, he got so angry that he dumped the dust container from the vacuum right on our carpet and stormed out.
    By the way…”bowel normalcy”…that’s TMI.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Awake. at Cultured Mama.

meta

