Mocha’s Toes

November 4, 2008 § 4 Comments

Yesterday, after many weeks of procrastination, I finally got Mocha to the groomers. She needed it! But what I thought would be a simple trip to the groomers turned out to be a [echo effect]DAY OF HORRORS!!!! DUN dun duuuuun…..

Shortly after I dropped her off, I got a call, “Mrs Thies, did you know Mocha has fleas?” OMG Not MY dog!!! I was mortified– in the three years since my parents gave her to me, that dog has never had fleas, and I have the grooming/vet records to prove it! Apparently, it was a mighty infestation, so I gave them the ok to dip her, and called Matt in a panic. He agreed to get a fogger for the house, and I was going to take Mocha to my mom’s for the day so we could steer clear.

When I went to pick her up, she was a little more… exuberant than usual, and I quickly noticed in all her jumping around that she was leaving blood on the floor. The groomer had just said, “We used the grinder on her nails, since they are black and we can’t see the quick.” Uh-huh. They used the grinder only after they had short trimmed her back nails and hurt her pretty bad. It was awful. And the groomer woman was so laconic. I was like, “My dog is bleeding, could you at least put some quick-stop on it or something?” and so she did, but not at all in an urgent or apologetic fashion. She acted like I was over-reacting (which I wasn’t, though I could have.)

So poor Mocha was absolutely miserable for the rest of the day. She cried and cried and sat on the “elbows” of her back legs so she didn’t have to put any pressure on her toes. And she wanted to be held. After I had told her for the 15th time that she could not climb onto the couch with me, I got down on the floor and she curled up on my lap. Mind you, she’s almost 3 feet tall at the shoulder, and weighs 64 pounds, so it was more like curling up between my legs, but she wanted me to hold her and seemed satisfied with what she could get.

Even now, she is laying behind me and crying. My poor baby! I feel so bad for her. I know her toes must hurt, and I’m not real sure that there’s anything we can even do about it. I’m pretty pissed at PetSmart, which usually does a pretty good job, and they all know her there. Usually, I say something about her nails, because they are so long and black, which make it difficult, but i didn’t say something this time– I felt like i didn’t need to! She’s not exactly a high maintenance groom– Rhodesian Ridgebacks are smooth, short haired dogs– a simple wash and brush out is all she needs. Her ears aren’t even very thoroughly cleaned! Of course, if they had started with those nails before getting to her ears, she probably didn’t sit still for much else. Ugh!

In other news, I put a pot roast in the crock pot yesterday, and today have the makings of yummy hot roast beef sandwiches. The cooking was of course interrupted by yesterday’s debacle, but we’re back on, and I added some garlic, and a whole pint of Guinness. That should make for some yummy gravy… I have to go get potatoes today, and some veggies to go with it, but I made a lot, so I will have plenty to freeze for later. I’m getting good at this preparing ahead thing! And my kitchen is still not a disaster zone! w00t Habit Training!

And in honor of Election Day, I present to you an essay I wrote on who I think would make a good president.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Mocha’s Toes

  • frodo_esque says:

    Wow– poor Mocha– I hope you find new groomers and gave them a piece of your mind.

  • bojojoti says:

    Poor Mocha! That is just awful. I really like the Advantage flea product. A squirt on the neck keeps your pet flea-free. We used to live between two large outside dogs, and we had to use the product regularly. Since we moved, we haven’t used it in years.

  • lijuun says:

    You have a Rhodie?!!! I love Rhodies! We had one while I was growing up and they are the BEST DOGS EVER. Oh, I could go on and on. Someday I dream of having one of my own, but not until I have time for one.
    /gushing
    Poor Mocha, though! It’s not that difficult to avoid injuring the animals while grooming them! 😦

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mocha’s Toes at Cultured Mama.

meta

