Bored. And perhaps wigging out.

November 17, 2008 § 5 Comments

My brain feels numb. It’s difficult to motivate. That’s to be expected, I suppose, but I so liked the momentum I had going. It’s hard to see it screech to a halt.

I hurt myself the other day. I decided to show off my mad dance skillz to a friend and came down really hard on my right knee. When I stood up, I felt an itching on the back of my leg, like a bug bite, so I went to scratch it and felt this largish bump. Wondering what the heck bit me, I went to the bathroom, pulled down my jeans to take a look. Lo and behold, I had a rapidly swelling hematoma on the back of my thigh that was getting bigger and purpler right before my eyes. I quickly put ice on it, and stayed off my leg for the rest of the day. It hurt like the dickens, and I couldn’t put any weight on my leg. I figured I popped something but good in there. Fast forward to today, when I had my appointment with the doctor about the other thing. The bruise has continued to grow and look nasty, and it hurts and itches still, so I mentioned it.

It’s never a good sign when a doctor looks at something on your body and gets a horrified expression and cries out, “Oh my! What did you DO??” She was concerned it might require surgery and so sent me to get an ultrasound STAT, so my afternoon was spent in radiology.

Turns out it is only a bruise after all. Just a very very nasty one. That itches.

And i firmly believe that doctors need to have a good poker face. Nothing sends adrenaline and panic racing through your veins faster than a doctor who seems genuinely horrified by your condition or ailment.

§ 5 Responses to Bored. And perhaps wigging out.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bored. And perhaps wigging out. at Cultured Mama.

meta

