Now we’re cooking

November 24, 2008 § 3 Comments

Or something like it.

This weekend at the farm where we get our milk, they had copies of Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon. I was so excited! I have been planning to get this book for quite some time now, and was thrilled to pick it up. So today, I got underway with many of the recipes or my own variations on them.

First, I separated some yogurt into whey and cream cheese. The cream cheese, I flavored with a little honey and vanilla, and a pinch of salt. The whey was incremental to the other recipes. I made some kefir, which did not require whey, but I wanted to make it none the less. I also made some ginger carrots, a cranberry spread, and apricot butter. And I made a jar of homemade mayo. They all have to sit out for a couple of days at room temp to “brew” and then we can eat ’em. Yum!

So I’m all into the raw fresh and fermented foods now. We cleared out our cabinets of processed stuff, and I am rearranging the kitchen to make it more user friendly. I also took out the microwave. We’ll give that to my parents, since the one they have is… difficult.

Tomorrow, I pick up our pasture-raised turkey. I have to create the brine so I can let it steep on Wednesday. I have a few more things to make for T-Day. I’m trying to have as much done ahead of time so that I’m not cooking all day Thursday. All elements can be assembled on Thursday morning with minimal muss and fuss and then we can bring it all over to the ‘rents’. I have a list on the fridge with what is done/still needs to be done. I’m ready!

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Now we’re cooking

  • bojojoti says:

    Please tell me how you prepare your turkey. I’m tackling Alton Brown’s Brine Turkey this year, and I wouldn’t mind some pointers from someone who has done it before.

  • DT says:

    I followed Alton’s recipe last year and it was really good. But this year, since I’m using a heritage breed, I’m going to treat it a little differently from the store-bought variety. They cook shorter and at a higher temp for one, so I’m going to have to keep an eye on the thermometer.
    I’m going to make a brine with water, salt, raw honey, and several herbs and spices, and peppercorns. I’m going to set it in a clean cooler full of the brine and ice all day tomorrow.
    Thursday morning, I am going to put an herb butter I made tonight under the skin and inside. It’s a cup of butter, a sprig of sage and a sprig of rosemary and about 1/2 a cup of raw honey run together in the Cuisinart. I might let that set for about 1/2 hour to an hour to let the enzymes from the honey work on the meat. This should help keep it tender while also crisping up the skin. I’m also going to put an onion, garlic, and the rest of the rosemary and sage into the cavity of the bird, but no stuffing. As Alton says, STUFFING IS EVIL!
    Is there anything in particular you wanted pointers about?

  • bojojoti says:

    Thanks! I just wondered how it all worked for you. No stuffing in the cavity–gotcha!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Now we’re cooking at Cultured Mama.

meta

