I may have found a new hero

June 30, 2009 § 9 Comments

On my Crunchy Mamas board over on Baby Center, someone posted a link to a recipe for homemade deoderant which is really simple to make, and I have all the ingredients. I’ve been planning to switch to homemade for a while now, especially since the “natural teatree oil deoderant” I’ve been using is begining to fail me.

According to all the women who have been using it, it works as well if not better than store bought, and without the chemicals and aluminum, etc. I have already switched to baking soda and apple cider vinegar to replace shampoo and conditioner, and that works awesomely, and so much cheaper than buying shampoo and conditioner. (No, you don’t use them at the same time– baking soda first, rinse completely, then ACV, and rinse. We’re not building volcanoes on our heads here, people.)

Anyway, so I started poking around this woman’s blog, and O. M. G. She’s like… ME. Only… better.

I so wish I had the discipline and presence of mind to blog like that. I regret that I (currently) lack the cogency just to… make sense and have an inspiring and relevant web presence. sigh

My lack of discipline and total ADD, I think, doesn’t allow me to organize my thoughts into series of posts, or to track in any kind of a straight line. So I blog randomly, and inconsistently, and very often in a rambling blithering way.

I’ve blogged about nutrition and raw milk; I’ve blogged about religion and a godly life; I’ve blogged about natural and crunchy lifestyles; I’ve blogged about ..erm.. natural options for sanitary period care (ok, gentlemen, those were girls only locked posts. TMI.) But she does it… better. And to a larger forum. And people link to her. *pout*

Ok, pity party over. One day, I will have the capacity to blog responsibly, and be worthy of Webiverse Influence. But today is not that day. So I will read other people’s blogs, and glean tips on How It Is Done.

šŸ˜›

Tagged: , ,

§ 9 Responses to I may have found a new hero

  • silver_nyssa says:

    I’ve been using baking soda and apple cider vinegar on my hair since January and I love it. I still use conditioner though, after rinsing out the vinegar.

  • DT says:

    Have you tried not using the conditioner? I find that the ACV by itself makes my hair soft.
    But then, if you have especially dry hair, I could see that being necessary. šŸ˜‰ The last conditioner I used made my scalp horribly itchy, so I stopped that all together.

  • silver_nyssa says:

    It’s unmanageable without the conditioner. The baking soda and ACV gets it clean, but it’s just a wild mass before I apply the conditioner! I’ve found a conditioner that I really like that I get the family size for under 2 dollars, so my hair care costs aren’t too bad.

  • lijuun says:

    I used to use baking soda on my hair, but quit for several years. I tried it again last year with disastrous results! My hair got insanely greasy and my scalp got really try and flaky. It was horrible. But I’m pretty sure my results were atypical.
    I am going to try that deodorant recipe, though. I’m terrified of the regular deodorants, but haven’t been able to find a natural one that works very well. So I’m using a cancer-causing one right now, but I’m excited to see this recipe! Now I’ve just got to go shopping for some coconut oil, which sounds like it could become a pretty big staple in my life after reading a little about it. I had no idea!

  • DT says:

    Coconut oil is Da Bomb! It is so useful, and good for you. I put it in smoothies and stuff too. Yummy! Make sure to get cold pressed (or expeller expressed) extra virgin CO.
    I have heard that when switching to the baking soda, it can cause your hair/scalp to go a little funky for a while until your head adjusts to the lack of stripping agents that shampoos are full of. After all, your scalp has had to compensate for all those drying detergents it has become accustomed to. After the ph levels have had a chance to re-balance though, the baking soda/ACV should make your hair healthier/shinier/softer than with shampoo/conditioner. If you are able to get past the icky phase. šŸ˜‰

  • kerewyn says:

    My sister put me onto deoderant crystals (which you wet then apply) but I stopped using it, because after a while the crystal seemed to crack, which made the surface unsmooth. I’ve been using regular deoderant, particularly ones that claim to not leave white marks on dark clothing. But I’ve just found a deoderant that is ‘liquified’ crystal, and also claims no white marks – so we’ll see.
    Actually I’ve always thought you blogged extremely well, far better than my rare and random rambling. A few years ago, you wrote a post about Palm Sunday which I saved and kept though I’m not a Christian, as it provoked my thoughts and emotions.

  • DT says:

    Thank you for the encouragement! It’s always good to know that something one has written has some kind of an impact. šŸ™‚
    I guess I was feeling inadequate yesterday. šŸ˜›
    I’ve been wondering about deoderant crystals. I keep hearing about them, but don’t know how they work or anything.
    I’m making my deoderant today– I had no cornstarch at my house, so I’m making it at my mom’s. šŸ˜‰

  • rachelute says:

    a friend of mine has taken to making homemade soap, detergent, and all sorts of things natually – she’s a bit obsessed…I wonder if she’s tried the deoderant?…
    Make sure you mention how it works once/if you do it. i tried the no-poo [bs&acv] before, but didn’t stick to it…my hair is very finicky and I didn’t feel like it was conditioned enough…

  • DT says:

    The deodorant works brilliantly. NO smell whatsoever, and I’m way less sweaty than I was with the other “natural” deodorant. In fact, I only sweated a little bit, and that was only after it got *really* hot, so it was no moreso than with a regular antiperspirant.
    I highly recommend this recipe!!
    I’m definitely obsessed with going all natural. It’s kinda my latest Thang. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I may have found a new hero at Cultured Mama.

meta

