July 5, 2009 § 5 Comments

We had a fabulous Fourth, yesterday. My mom took us to Gettysburg, which we were expecting to be packed since the Battle of Gettysburg took place over July 2nd, 3rd, and 4th in 1863. I don’t know if we just picked all the right places, since we didn’t pay the $30 a pop for tickets to visit the reenactments, but the crowds were manageable everywhere we went, and the weather was perfect. It was gorgeously mild and breezy, and despite being 8 months pregnant, it was great walking weather.

I got a little too much sun, though, and that sapped me a bit, but all in all, it was a fabulous day. Matt and I visited a little shop which sold repro-vintage patterns and material at reasonable prices– fabrics between $2 and $5 a yard– and gorgeous Civil War era garb. They had everything from hats and bonnets to undergarments and gowns. Beautiful stuff! I so wanted to drop everything and move there to become a seamstress in their shop!

We also went on a bus tour of Gettysburg, which was the first time my mom and I ever did in all the times we have visited there. It was really a great tour; we got to see so much more than we ever have before, and it put a lot of the battle in perspective and context. My mom really wants to go back in the fall for one of the many ghost tours. They seriously have a ghost tour group on every single block.

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend!

§ 5 Responses to

  • cloewen says:

    You were in Gettysburg?
    You were only 10 miles away from me.

  • DT says:

    I thought about that, but thought you were at AC, so we didn’t bother trying to get in touch! If we had known you were back, we would have tried to see about meeting… 😦
    Next time though– we plan to get back there after the baby comes! Then you can meet Ella too!

  • ladyxan says:

    Sounds beautiful… Oh how I wish I could be there with you in the fall. It is my favorite time of year! ..plus, I would love to visit with you all and HH, too. =D

  • ladyxan says:

    plus, I have not been there since I was a teen. I do not remember much either. *sigh* I know my youngest would like it, unsure about my oldest. =}

  • bojojoti says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day. I’d love to see Gettysburg someday.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at Cultured Mama.

meta

