Back to School?

July 27, 2009 § 15 Comments

Has anyone else noticed back-to-school themed commercials starting up again? I did a double take the other day when I saw the first one. The college ones have been on for a few weeks now, but there is far much more prep that needs to happen for dorm prep, etc than elementary back to school stuff, so I’ve not really thought much about that.

The thing is, I love back to school time. It smells of Autumn to me, my most favorite time of year. When I see moms shopping for backpacks, I think of apples smothered in hot caramel and state and county fairs and sweaters and hiking and camping amongst beautifully changing mountain foliage.

But it’s July. Is it just me, or does it seem a tad early to start thinking about such things? I won’t mind so much in August, which… I guess is next week but still.. It’s like finding the stores stocking Christmas stuff already.

But I do love school shopping and that feeling just before school starts. I’m sure that I will engage in the annual ritual once Ella is old enough for schooling, even though I plan to homeschool. There’s just so much… nostalgia, and that… feeling and how much a part of Fall it is for me. I kinda wish I was going back this semester, just so I had an excuse to buy new school supplies. I can practically smell the Ticonderoga Pencils…

§ 15 Responses to Back to School?

  • raeveness says:

    Our school system out here starts August 10th, which is just two weeks away from today. So I have done a little back to school shopping, but not all yet.

  • ewok_626 says:

    August is Saturday. πŸ˜‰
    And don’t fret. Winter coats will be out next week, too.

  • DT says:

    Wow, really? When we were kids, didn’t school ALWAYS start on September first??

  • DT says:

    You know it. I guess we have to stay a step ahead of the seasons. By like two seasons.

  • raeveness says:

    Most schools start after Labor Day, I think. We aren’t so lucky! But she does get out earlier, so I suppose that’s good.

  • pester says:

    why do you plan to homeschool

  • DT says:

    Wow, well, I have a lot of reasons, really. Not least of which is my truly sucky personal experience in public school. πŸ˜›
    I feel very strongly that it is primarily mine and my husband’s responsibility to raise, train and teach our child, and I’m not really comfortable with handing that over to strangers. I also feel that the general structure of public schools (and private schools which are based on the same ideas) is an artificial construct that is not conducive to true learning, and not a natural means of education at all.
    I have always loved learning and had a huge interest in education, and how people in general learn, and I really believe that I will be able to teach my children better than anyone else can. My experience in school was horrifying, and so traumatic and abusive that it has taken a long time to recover. I do not feel comfortable with handing my child over to a system that fosters bullying and abusive situations, and seems to only be getting worse.
    There are a lot more reasons I could list, but suffice it to say it is something I have put a lot of thought into. πŸ™‚ Plus, I just get excited thinking about it. I love to teach, and love to learn, and see LIFE as one long teaching moment. My kid will be “homeschooled” from the moment she is born, not just when she’s “school age.” It’s a much more organic thing to me, you know?
    Hope that answers your question! πŸ™‚

  • pester says:

    So not so much a religious thing.

  • ruthette says:

    Wal-Mart had all its Back-to-School stuff out last week when I went shopping. O_o

  • DT says:

    It plays a role, but it’s not the main reason. I probably would feel the same way if I weren’t religious.
    I’m just too much of a thinker/non-conformist to go along with the mainstream. πŸ˜‰ I’d rather teach my children *how* to think than *what* to think, and I feel like schools today teach regurgitation as opposed to anything actually useful.

  • DT says:

    As a teacher, how did this make you feel?

  • Most schools start after Labor Day
    Maybe in some parts of the country, but everywhere I’m aware of the school systems, kids go back to school in either July or August.

  • DT says:

    It must be an East Coast/West Coast thing. I know out West they have some of those year-round school sessions. I’ve lived in Texas, where it was strictly a September first start, ending on May 31st. Up here in PA, we started by Sept 1st when I was a kid, but they seem to keep pushing it back further into August these days.
    Of course, with snow days, the school year gets bumped further and further into June as well. *blows raspberry* I like the definitive start and end of Sept 1st and May 31st. Seems much neater to me. πŸ™‚

  • I’m from Tennessee and we always started to school in July at the year-round school or the first week of August at the “normal” public school. Out here in Oregon I think the kids start back at the end of August, maybe? I know the UO students don’t start back until the middle of September, which just seems *too* late, and then they don’t get out until mid-June.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back to School? at Cultured Mama.

meta

