Wide awake

July 29, 2009 § 2 Comments

I’ve been up since sometime before four now. Not digging it. There’s only so much early morning net surfing one can do. I wish I was asleep right now.

In other news, no puke puddles yet, but I won’t hold my breath that there still won’t be one. Mocha has such a sensitive stomach. Anorexic dog.

I want to get another hair cut before I go into labor. I cut off my waist length hair at about five months when I just got completely fed up and hot one day. They say not to make those kinds of decisions “while pregnant” because they can be hormonally based, and you could immediately regret it, but I surely did NOT. I felt so much lighter and cooler after that. Well, here four months later, it’s gotten down to my shoulders (I cut it in a chin length bob– extreme I know!) and it’s driving me crazy again. I always feel hot with it on my neck, and it’s too short for an effective pony tail, so I’d rather just get it trimmed up. I packed ponytail holders for when I go into labor, but frankly, I don’t want to deal with the sweaty mess of hair during L&D.

I also want a pedi. It would be so nice to have professional toes and a bit of pampering just prior to giving birth. I’ve only had a couple of pedicures in my life, but I loved both of them. The other night, I got out my little home kit and cut and shaped my nails (both hands and feet) but I don’t have any nail polish. I used to be a polish junkie, and had all manner of crazy colors, including black and “gun metal,” but it’s been a looong time since I spent money on any makeup, much less nail polish. I also used to be a red head. But I’ve been au natural for upwards of five years now. Lately, I’ve been thinking of going red again. I liked having red hair.

I kinda miss my funky self expression. But at the same time, there is this grown up responsible side of me (which I never knew existed) who cannot justify the frivolity and expense of such things as colored hair, crazy makeup and Doc Martins. Ah well, I guess I’m just a grown up married lady, soon-to-be Mom. Maybe I’ll have the time and money to be wacky when I’m old.

§ 2 Responses to Wide awake

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wide awake at Cultured Mama.

meta

