Any day now

August 6, 2009 § 7 Comments

It was a rough night. I had intensely painful contractions that radiated from my spine all the way around to the front lasting about a minute each at about 5 minutes apart until 2:30 AM. Just at the time when I woke Matt up with “I think this is it!” Then they stopped. Of course.

Today, I feel yucky. Stopped up, general ickiness. And my crock pot is broken. I am so upset about this. Y’all know I love me my crock pot. Apparently, the crock itself has a crack in the bottom, and I can see that it is leaking onto the heating element. I was planning on making some crock pot spaghetti, but now have to go the traditional route. That’s happily simmering away on the stove right now, but of course, one of the benefits of crocks is that they don’t heat up the whole kitchen. I’m a muck of sweat right now.

But the spaghetti smells good.

ETA: Spaghetti R gud.

Tagged: , ,

§ 7 Responses to Any day now

  • Wheeee! Baby on the way!!!!!! πŸ˜€
    …how do you make crock pot spaghetti?

  • quilterbear says:

    I had many a rough nights like that toward the end of my last pregnancy. I can sympathize with you greatly! Hope you can get another crock pot soon, as you’ll definitely need it after baby is here!
    *hugs*

  • bojojoti says:

    I always felt yucky the day before labor started–almost like the flu.
    Any time now…

  • DT says:

    Yeah, It feels exactly like the flu! No fever though…
    And the spaghetti I made for dinner is quickly becoming consumed. By me. Matt’s not even home from work yet. There should be some left for him… I made a huge pot.

  • DT says:

    I’m going to look for the crock insert and see if I can replace that. I hope so, my mom said I could have her crockpot, since i use it more than she does, but her’s is little, and mine was a 6 quart.
    I also have a 20 quart roaster. I love crockpots.. I would collect them if i had the space.

  • DT says:

    Well, basically, it’s a one pot spaghetti. You put a couple of cans of crushed tomatoes, a couple of cloves of garlic, basil and olive oil in the crock pot. Let it start to simmer on high stirring occasionally for about an hour. Mean while, in a skillet, brown some meat (I used a combo of hamburger and Italian sausage.) Toss the browned meat in, and turn it down to low. Break up a box of spaghetti pasta into the pot, and add enough water to cover (I used about a quart of water.) Salt and pepper to taste.
    Let it go, stirring occasionally until the pasta is tender, and serve!

  • Every time there’s a lack of posting from you, I think “gee, is she in labor?!” πŸ˜€ Praying for you!
    Your spaghetti sounds so yummy. I love our crock-pot, but we don’t use it as much as we should.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Any day now at Cultured Mama.

meta

