Bright and Early. Or just early.

August 12, 2009 § 1 Comment

I woke up a little before 6 this morning. And now seem to be almost entirely wide awake. It’s not my usual pattern, which tends to follow bathroom breaks every two to three hours a night, with my first waking period being 1:30, followed by 3:30-4, then around 7 and then I go back to bed until about quarter to 10. Usually. Depending on how much time was spent trying to get back to sleep during one of those interruptions, I may find my lie-in can last past 11.

All bets will be off once little one gets here, off course.

I discovered some interesting facts yesterday about how much weight I should expect to lose immediately upon having the baby, and then in the weeks to come. The article said “Don’t expect to get back to your pre-pregnancy weight for quite a while,” but based on the numbers they threw out there, and the fact that through this pregnancy I’ve only gained 15 pounds so far, it sounds like I should go past my pre-pregnancy weight and weigh less than I did to start. Go me!

Of course, my pre-pregnancy weight isn’t all that great to begin with, but I’ll take what I can get.

One thing I have been looking forward to in delivering the baby was a return to normalcy in my bathroom habits. The MOST annoying thing to me about being pregnant (of all the inconveniences and random pains etc) is the peeing ALL. THE. TIME. It wouldn’t be so bad, I suppose if our one and only bathroom was not positioned at the farthest point in the house from our bedroom, and involved a flight of stairs, but there you go. I have contemplated peeing in a bowl by the bed, and fantasized about a return to chamber pots; but so far have had no accidents, and have just sucked it up and made my multiple nocturnal journeys.

So imagine my surprise and chagrin to read in this article that my need to eliminate will go UP after delivery, and I may not even feel it do to the trauma to those areas resulting from the birthing process? Apparently, it is typical to lose another four pounds of water weight over the next week through urination and perspiration, which sound like I’m gonna be a hot mess. Who may pee the bed. Not only will my child’s elimination needs be a new concern, but mine will now be as well. Oh fun.

Last night, we contemplated a trip to the ER, as my heart began to pound heavily for a very long time, and I couldn’t sit up for any length without becoming dizzy and light headed. I figure it is probably dehydration, so I am drinking more water and such. I just don’t want to make any trips to the hospital until it is TIME, and unless it seems dire and imperative that I go. I’m just lazy like that. So I listened to my HypBirth CD’s to relax and try and regulate my breathing/heartbeat, drank more water and went to bed. By the end of the CD, I felt better, and my heart rate had slowed down to a more normal rate, and I was able to get some sleep.

I’m feeling much better today, and my other problem seems to have slowed down, if not resolved itself. YAY! I hope.

I think I may be able to go back to bed now, and squeeze out a few more precious hours of sleep. I was starting to get concerned by last night that with the weakness and exhaustion brought on by my little bug, if I were to go into labor, I wouldn’t have the strength to endure it. So I’m going to try and recoup today, and hopefully build up for The Big One. And maybe after that, start packing carbs. Like before a race.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Bright and Early. Or just early.

  • kelly0182 says:

    The postpartum period with all of that urinating and sweating really isn’t that bad. You will probably be so wrapped up with your baby that you won’t even notice that you’re sweating or that you have to go more.
    On the up in the middle of the night thing…when I was pregnant we were having work done on our upstairs bathroom so when I woke up in the middle of the night I had to waddle to the downstairs bathroom. Seriously I was not happy.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bright and Early. Or just early. at Cultured Mama.

meta

