I’m awake. Barely.

August 19, 2009 § 7 Comments

Last night, I peed every hour and a half. Every. Hour. An. A. Half.

Yesterday was a bit of a booger of a day (yes, I said booger) because I had my OB appt and so had to be carted to my parents’ house at a time when I am usually sleeping. Once there, of course I had a nice visit with the ‘rents, and ended up never actually getting back to sleep. Then, it turned out that Matt was done with work early, and was home in time to take me to my appt, so there was really no need for me to have been at my parents’ house anyway. But that’s ok, because we ended up doing laundry and I finally got in a nap.

One of the things we had to do yesterday was go down to the farm for milk. Now, last week when we went down there, we got in this sudden HUGE thunderstorm, which was rather thrilling and exciting. I didn’t expect a sequel this week.

But sure enough, just as we were almost there, this whopper of a storm blew up, and it was incredible! Visibility almost nil, and branches and trees getting blown down everywhere, and lightening flashing all around. We almost got hit a couple of times by falling limbs!

The way back home was truly terrifying. We got to see how narrowly we had escaped a falling tree, and the lightening was epic. At one point, we saw the flash, and a few minutes later, smelled burning and saw smoke. At that point, I thought I was going to lose it. I am not a scaredy-cat by a long shot. In fact, I pride myself on being a generally pretty brave person. But to say I was terrified that whole drive home would be an understatement. Every muscle in my body was tensed up and I was very very quiet the whole way. I was so afraid we were going to get hit by debris or lightening. Not that the lightening would have been so bad– the van is grounded, but STILL.

And yet. All that fear and all that adrenaline and catecholamines being sent through my system still did not induce labor. 😛 My OB says it’s still Fort Knox up there, but at least my cervix is thinning out now, for what it’s worth. And the baby’s head is in position.

My middle sister and niece are coming over today to work on the baby’s room. Right now, you literally cannot even walk in the door, ha! My friends who came on Monday may be coming today as well, and we can hopefully finish up with the major progress we made then. It’s nice to see things coming along finally. Now to get dressed.

§ 7 Responses to I’m awake. Barely.

  • narumi says:

    *hugs* yanno.. i wish i drove, or could afford to hit philly again and somehow get out to you.. because a part of me would love to paint this “lamb and lion” mural on the wall in the little ones room ❤

  • DT says:

    That would be so awesome! I keep thinking of murals I want to do… We have a bunch of Classic Pooh decorations, so I have been thinking of maybe pastoral scenes with beehives and stuff, but also I’d love to do scenes form fairy tales or books like Narnia and such…
    Ah well… someday– when I can afford paint. 😉

  • narumi says:

    omg yes Narnia XD I think I would move into the babys room then lol
    let me paint a reepicheep and truffelhunter X3
    an of course Aslan ❤

  • frodo_esque says:

    I know of which storm you speak, because it ran through here too. =)
    Kinda cool to say that now that I’m closer!

  • frodo_esque says:

    I love your ‘om’ icon, mind if I ask if it holds any significance for you?

  • narumi says:

    *nodsnods* well I didnt make it :3 although yes it does, Im a Reiki Master, (“master” not implementing a mastery but a level where one can teach instead) and Yogi (as in one whom practices yoga) “Om” what we were taught in in classes is sound is a “seed” it represents both the unmanifest (nirguna) and manifest (saguna) aspects of God. its all yet nothing- silly little story here but i usually chant a few “om”s before i draw or relax to do as such :>

  • frodo_esque says:

    How very cool! I’m of Indian descent (but was born and raised in the States), and collect items with “Om’s” on them because I find the symbol and chant very soothing. I try to practice yoga regularly, but have sadly fallen behind after making the move from Atlanta to D.C. I really look forward to getting involved again.
    My younger cousin was trained in Reiki and did a lot of good to my mothers ankle! Great healing art.
    Do you mind if I add you to my friends list?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m awake. Barely. at Cultured Mama.

meta

