Mmm Steak.

August 20, 2009 § 6 Comments

I made myself a sirloin steak for lunch. I also fried up some potstickers and tater tots for a complete meal.

I’ve had a pseudo productive morning. I tried to mow the lawn, but finally had to give it up. We have one of those old fashioned push mowers which runs on people power, as opposed to gas– and the grass in our yard is that tough nasty stuff that grows in clumps rather than a nicely rolling lawn. I finally gave it over as a bad job, and now my arms are killing me.

But at least I have steak.

I really need to have this baby asap. I talked to my mother-in-law this morning and had failed to register that the 24th– the day they are coming up– is THIS MONDAY. For some reason, the 24th was this distant amorphous date to me. They will only be here for a week, and if the baby doesn’t come in that time, they won’t get to see her. I don’t know why they only planned for a week up here, really. They are both retired– it’s not like they have jobs to rush back to. Maybe they can extend their stay once they get up here.

My mom said to call the OB and schedule an induction for next week. She said the fear of the induction may push me into labor. 😛 That’s what happened fro her, anyway with my youngest sister. She was so afraid of the pain, that she went into labor mere hours before the scheduled induction. But really, I don’t want to be induced– especially just to accommodate someone else’s travel plans, you know? Birth is one of those things that, the more you mess with it, the more you invite trouble.

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to Mmm Steak.

  • dubheach says:

    Two of my babies were “evicted” because they were at least two weeks, and in one case over a month over the due date and I was over forty when they evicted Lam.
    My mother said she induced my brother so that my Dad would be there for his birth and it was something she regretted.
    imho, try to let the kid come naturally, there’s a reason the baby is in there finishing up their growing process (at this point it’s the brain, does your mom want to throw drugs petoctin in her grandchild’s bloodstream when the brain is growing?) Okay, that last argument is a bit extreme, but you get the point. Hang in there.

  • DT says:

    My youngest sister was three weeks late… and my mom was forty! I wonder if there is a correlation?
    Yeah, unless there is some kind of medical emergency, I really want nature to take it’s course. She will come out– I am guaranteed that much at least! Timing… well.. that’s up in the air.

  • frodo_esque says:

    This reminds me of this restaurant in Atlanta which serves an eggplant parmesan which supposedly has placed many, many women in labor. There was a newspaper article on it and women from all over the Atlanta, and Georgia area come and order it just for that purpose! It apparently has a pretty good track record. There as one woman there who had plans to come every single day for lunch with different friend until the baby made an entrance. =)

  • hannahsarah says:

    The mental image I get of a 9 months pregnant woman fighting with a push mower is making me giggle. I mean, if that doesn’t do it, what will?

  • DT says:

    Well, there was a woman walking back in the alley behind our house, and she just stared and stared as she walked by. I must have been quite a sight!
    When I told him about it, Matt said she was probably thinking, “Where’s your husband??” and his response would be “Her husband doesn’t know she’s out doing this and wouldn’t allow it if he did.”
    lol

  • DT says:

    I was just telling my mom about that yesterday! There are women on my birth board who swear by that eggplant parm!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mmm Steak. at Cultured Mama.

meta

