7 weeks 6 days: Mimicry

October 15, 2009 § 4 Comments

Elanor is almost 8 weeks old now, and she’s growing and changing so fast. Unfortunately, I do not have the luxury of spending a lot of time logging these precious moments– I’m too busy experiencing them. But while she’s down for the moment, I have to make a record of today.

The past couple of weeks, she has been mimicking my facial expressions, and cooing when I coo, and just generally being cute. One of the things I say to her, in an exaggerated fashion, is “I love you.” She has been mimicking the mouth movements, and occasionally will add vocals to it as well which has got to be one of the cutest things EVAR.

This morning, we played the “I love you” game for a long time and she was just so bright and animated about it. I called my mom to share, and lament our lack of a video camera, and while I was talking to her, Ella– clear as day– said, “I love you” and my mom heard it. It was too precious.

Fast forward to this afternoon, after several feedings, and naps. I was dressing her so we could go out, and as I was snapping up her onesie, she was trying to engage me with her eyes. When I focused on her, she started making the “I love you” mouth movements! I was so surprised, but immediately began to say “I love you” and she broke into the most beaming smile, and vocalized the words along with me!!! She was engaging me in conversation!

I know she isn’t “talking” yet, and that she doesn’t know about words yada yada yada, but how smart is she to initiate an interaction with WORDS?

My baby is Teh Awesome.

§ 4 Responses to 7 weeks 6 days: Mimicry

  • lijuun says:

    Holy dang! I have never heard of this happening so young! But then, I know very little about babies.
    But still!!!!!!!

  • DT says:

    It’s kind of a parlor trick, because at this age, babies mimic your facial expressions as a developmental stage. So make expressions that are words at a point when they are vocalizing, and voila! you have a talking two month old. It doesn’t last long as a stage.
    It’s still pretty cool though. 😉

  • hannahsarah says:

    Awww, so sweet!
    When Rivka was about that age, she watched me put on some lip gloss, and then she smacked her lips together! I’d never really thought about it, but then I realized that I really do smack my lips every time I put on gloss. Smart little critters, aren’t they?

  • bojojoti says:

    Your baby is teh Awesome! Isn’t everything they do just amazing?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 7 weeks 6 days: Mimicry at Cultured Mama.

meta

