Sh-Boom Sh-Boom, Ya-da-da-da-da-da…

November 2, 2009 § 5 Comments

Our sink is sunk. We cannot wash dishes or have any water standing in it because it pours like a faucet. Under the cabinet. Where the faucet isn’t. We have a new sink and all the plumbing supplies needed to replace it, but it is a two man job, and the guy who said he would do it hasn’t come out.

It’s been a month.

I mean, really. I’m sick of washing dishes in the bathroom, for goodness sakes.

I just friended a bunch of folks from therealljidol in order to keep up better with the entries. So if I friended you and you don’t know who I am, Hello and welcome!

We went to see It Might Get Loud tonight. Great rockumemtary. Ella fell asleep during “Sunday, Bloody Sunday.” She wanted to face the screen through the whole thing, and would fidget if I turned her around. She likes music.

I have started reading The Maker’s Diet by Jordan Rubin. It’s basically all the nutritional stuff I’ve already learned about, but he goes further into a 40 day program to change your lifestyle and eating habits– paring down your food choices for the first two weeks and then slowly adding stuff back in over the next four. Matt and I are going to try it,. The idea is to initially de-tox and reboot your system. Since we have already gotten the ball rolling in our shopping and food choices, it’s not going to be a horrendous shock to our system. But it does make us cut out all pork and other biblically “unclean” foods. So no bacon or sausage. Or shrimp or catfish. But I think we will survive.

Matt prefers turkey bacon anyway.

§ 5 Responses to Sh-Boom Sh-Boom, Ya-da-da-da-da-da…

  • When I was a wee one my mother put me to sleep by playing “Peppermint Twist.”

  • kengara says:

    Heh, my in-laws’ kitchen sink had a lot of trouble draining, so they just took out the pipes and put a huge bucket under it XD Now washing the dishes involves taking the bucket outside to empty every so often. I commented that it’s a good way to motivate people to conserve water XD
    I am intrigued by this Maker’s diet! So eating kosher is good for you?

  • DT says:

    LOL whenI was 3, my parents tried to get tickets to a Kiss concert for me. 😛

  • DT says:

    So eating kosher is good for you?
    Apparently. Who knew that God wasn’t just making up arbitrary rules? 😛
    Actually, science can now back up the “unclean” label on prohibited meats, because not only do they tend to harbor more disease and parasites, but the meats themselves are not nutritionally sound.
    Growing up Messianic, I’ve always flirted with the idea of going kosher. This tips the scales for me. Bye bye bacon! Ah… no more squirrel or possum. Oh well, looks Like I won’t be having dinner with the relations. 😉

  • kengara says:

    XD Yeah… I had sorta suspected.
    Really? I knew about parasites and stuff, but hadn’t heard about nutritional differences… tell me more!
    XD What funny things you say!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sh-Boom Sh-Boom, Ya-da-da-da-da-da… at Cultured Mama.

meta

