So much to do…

January 6, 2010 § 16 Comments

I promised my dad a fruitcake, and have had the fruit (real dried fruit, not icky red and green candied junk) and nuts soaking in bourbon and whey for a couple of days to get good and fermented, and intended to start making the cake today, but don’t you know I can’t find the recipe now! Grrr. I have to keep searching.

This morning, I busted out the NutriMill for the first time and just milled a bunch of flour, some for the fruitcake but most for bread. I also am making a chocolate cake, so I need to find a good recipe for that.

later

The chocolate cake recipe I tried was an unmitigated disaster. I thought it was calling for an awful lot of eggs… In the meantime, the flour shot all over the floor from the mill– apparently you have to have the thing in there just right— and so the linoleum is dangerously slippery. Ice skating across the kitchen with hot baked goods is not a pastime I recommend. Then, I knocked the soap pump into a pan of grease that was soaking, spraying grease water all over myself and the floor. So now the floor is a treacherous deathtrap, and that’s when the baby decided she had had enough and proceeded to start screaming. I was at my wit’s end, so I just scooped her up and evacuated the disaster area as quickly as possible. I don’t even want to go back in there now.

I’ll leave it for Matt. 🙂

Addendum: After looking back over the recipe, I see that I missed an ingredient. Apparently, when transcribing it, I forgot to write down the milk.

Still. It seems like an awful lot of eggs.

—————-
Now playing: Rebecca St. James – Reborn
http://foxytunes.com/artist/rebecca+st.+james/track/reborn

Tagged: , , ,

§ 16 Responses to So much to do…

  • What’s the recipe if I may ask?

  • DT says:

    1/2 cup melted butter
    1/2 cup coconut milk
    9 eggs
    3/4 cup sugar
    3/4 tsp salt
    1 tsp vanilla
    3/4 cup sifted coconut flour
    3/4 tsp baking powder
    Mix first 6 ingredients. Sift flour and baking powder together and whisk into batter until there are no lumps. Pour into a greased 8x8x2 pan and bake at 350 for 35 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

    I used wheat flour instead of coconut flour, and also increased the amount to 1 1/2 cups, since that was waaay too little.
    Not enough flour, too many eggs. ugh.
    Tey ended up dense and … eggy.

  • Hmmm…
    Did you get it off the net? If so it could very well be a typo. Try this one.
    Chocolate Cake w/ Chocolate Fudge Frosting
    Ingredients:
    2 cups sugar
    1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
    1 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
    1 tablespoon baking powder
    1 teaspoon salt
    2 eggs
    1 cup milk
    1/2 cup vegetable oil
    2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    1 cup boiling water
    CHOCOLATE FUDGE FROSTING(recipe follows)
     
    Directions:
    1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans.
    2. Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt in large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed of electric mixer 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water. Pour batter into prepared pans.
    3. Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out almost clean and the top springs back when touched gently. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely. Frost with CHOCOLATE FUDGE FROSTING. 8 to 10 servings.
    CHOCOLATE FUDGE FROSTING
    3/4 cup (1-1/2 sticks) butter or margarine, melted
    1 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
    4 cups powdered sugar
    1/2 cup milk
    2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    1. Place melted butter in large mixer bowl. Add cocoa, stirring until smooth.
    2. Gradually beat in powdered sugar, milk and vanilla, beating until smooth. If necessary add additional milk, 1/2 teaspoon at a time, beating until spreading consistency. About 3 cups frosting.
    Let me know how it comes out for you.

  • Oh dear! I hope your day gets better!

  • DT says:

    Thanks, I will!

  • captainq says:

    For me, I was surprised to see so many eggs in the recipe I made until I found about half were for the frosting. Perhaps that’s the mistake the recipe has?

  • Np, sweetie. How’s the baby?

  • DT says:

    She’s doing great, thanks! I can’t believe how she’s growing. She was giving me kisses today!

  • DT says:

    I don’t know that it got better, but it remained interesting! Someone dropped their young children off at church tonight for Treasure Club– but there was no Treasure Club!! So I ended up babysitting unexpectedly! lol

  • They grow so fast! My little girl is 4 now and she’s almost the same size as her 7 year old sister, 45 3/4 lbs, 50 inches tall. Long blonde hair, beautiful grey blue eyes. She’s my little WASP baby.

  • DT says:

    I have no idea… I don’t know why it called for NINE eggs. And only 3/4 cup of flour.
    Shame on me for not trusting my common sense there.

  • DT says:

    Awww! She’s asleep on my shoulder, and I can really feel how heavy she is. Ella’s eyes have lightened to blue grey as well– like mine. I expect she’ll remain blonde too– her eyelashes and eyebrows are practically translucent.

  • Same with Sammi. Or she could do like me cause I was platinum blonde when I was little and as I’ve gotten older it’s darkened to a beautiful chocolate brown (though I’ve dyed it A LOT). I’m hoping she keeps the blue eyes though, they’re so pretty.

  • DT says:

    Or she could do like me cause I was platinum blonde when I was little and as I’ve gotten older it’s darkened to a beautiful chocolate brown (though I’ve dyed it A LOT).
    Me too! Except for the chocolate brown part. I don’t know what kind of brown you’d call it, but it’s not exactly beautiful… I liked myself better as a blonde or red head. I miss being red… 😦

  • I did black and multiple different shades red. My favorite was a very deep red that in the right light looked almost purple. It was beautiful but the hubby requested that I go back to my natural color. Now he’s just waiting for it to grow back out. I had to cut it all off when we moved to FL due to all the damage I did to with dying and heat styling. So I just cut it all back so that all the bad was out and now I’m letting the good grow back in.

  • captainq says:

    Aw. You’ll do better next time though. 🙂
    If you like, I can get you the recipe I made, it’s for a German chocolate cake with a pecan icing. It was very, very good. :9

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading So much to do… at Cultured Mama.

meta

