January 9, 2010 § 13 Comments

I’m hiding.

I’m baking a cake for my friend’s surprise birthday party today. But it has been rife with difficulties. My trial run this week with a new recipe was a complete disaster, so I’m trying an old standard recipe. Unfortunately, I am having to navigate a cluttered and dysfunctional kitchen. This is very frustrating for me, since I have spent the entire week trying to get ahead in there, cleaning and washing dishes and organizing. But it feels like two steps forward, three steps back. If you went in there now, you would not know that I have spent hours every day this week cleaning.

I was becoming more and more frustrated while trying to bake and find places to put things and hit my breaking point when I dropped the cake. Yes, indeed dear reader, I dropped it. Kablooie. Cake parts everywhere.

Just prior to this I could feel the old urge to break and smash starting to build and with that one last straw, I set down the cake pan, turned and walked out of the kitchen, went to my room and shut the door.

I think I will go back to bed.

ETA: Matt has made a new cake to replace the other one. I think I will make a trifle from the crumbled pieces of the first one.

I still want to go back to bed.

Tagged: ,

§ 13 Responses to

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at Cultured Mama.

meta

