I should be bald in no time…

January 20, 2010 § 6 Comments

This morning, I brushed my hair back out of my face with my hand. And came away with a handful of hair. Ugh. I’ve hit that point postpartum where my strong pregnancy nails and lush pregnancy hair are now defeated. My fingernails, which grew at a phenomenal rate during and for several months after my pregnancy now barely grow and break like … things that break really easily. :-/

Meanwhile, my hair has decided to part with my scalp like so many rats from a sinking ship. My scalp is clearly visible through what remains. Bleh. And my shower drain is sloooooow, despite my best efforts to harvest the little deserters before they can make their escape into the sewer. grr. My hair is fleeing to the ocean, and I cannot stop it.

I ate a cream filled donut for breakfast. 😦 The worst part is that it was old and stale. It is imperative that I break this sugar addiction. I crave it like smack. Just shoot straight powdered sugar up my veins and I couldn’t be happier. I think I may need to take 12 Steps back from sugar. For serious. I can’t stop eating sweets, and I’ve gained so much of my pre-pregnancy weight back that once loose jeans are now tight and uncomfortable. So discouraging.

I’m combating this poor choice with a chicken sandwich made with my homemade bread, mayo, pastured chicken, organic baby carrots and a tall glass of raw dairy. I feel my body thanking me.

I was inspired to write a PotC drabble for blackpearlsails this morning. The muse doesn’t often strike, but the imagery was so compelling and clear, I had to run with it. If only I could run with this week’s topic for therealljidol, Run, Don’t Walk.

Still thinking on that.

—————-
Now playing: Steven Curtis Chapman – Lord Of The Dance (Abbey Road Version)
http://foxytunes.com/artist/steven+curtis+chapman/track/lord+of+the+dance+(abbey+road+version)

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to I should be bald in no time…

  • bojojoti says:

    Losing that much hair is troubling. Do you suppose it is attributable to hormones? Are you taking any supplemental vitamins?

  • DT says:

    I do have a thyroid problem that caused my hair to thin dramatically before. Even though I have Synthroid for it, I am not very consistent in taking them everyday. At least, that is what I am telling myself.
    The top of my head hurts, though– like I hit it real hard or something. It’s very tender, and has been for a while now. I’m not sure if the two things are related. I go to the doc next month for blood check for my thyroid and vitamin deficiencies (I’m anemic, and low in D). If I’m bald before then, I’ll give her a call though. 😉

  • DT says:

    Oh, and I am taking supplements.

  • bojojoti says:

    Check to see if your doctor will prescribe a natural thyroid supplement for you. Synthroid is synthetic. Each person is different. I took Synthroid for over a decade before my body stopped working with it. I started taking Armour thyroid, which is made from pigs, and it worked for another few years. My doctor now has thyroid specifically made for me, and my thyroid function is doing better.
    And you MUST take it every day. Be faithful, because there are so many problems associated with hypothyroid: exhaustion, dry skin, mood swings, weight gain, hair loss, constipation, depression, memory loss, and the disappearance of half your eyebrows. With the new thyroid medication I’m taking, I’ve made it through this winter so much more comfortably. I used to suffer terribly from the cold–I couldn’t sleep at night for the cold until we bought a heated mattress pad that I’d have set on high all night!
    Take your thyroid supplement faithfully, and it should help with your hair.

  • dawny_darko says:

    Unsolicited advise from a stranger! Hi, I’m Dawny and I have a 4 year old…
    I lost a TON of hair too when my son was about 3 months or so. What nobody told me is that when you are pregnant, you DON’T loose hair. Your hair normally sheds at a rate of about 100 hairs a day, but not when you are pregnant. Then, once you are done making that baby, many MANY of the hairs that didn’t drop when they should have do so.
    I don’t know if your thyriod stuff may be making it worse, but mine grew back in about a year. It was a little funny when I had all these stubby hairs at my hairline, but that didn’t last too long. I hope it grows back for you too.
    As for the hungries with nursing.. man, I used to eat my food and anything my hubby didn’t eat and then anything else I could get a hold of. YIKES. I hadn’t gained much weight during pregnancy (I was quite overweight to start, so that was OK), and I kept it off OK while nursing, but we weened suddenly when he was about 11 months old, and that appetite didn’t go away and I didn’t notice so the 40 I lost before getting pregnant came back pretty quickly. I wish I had figured it out sooner. GOOD LUCK!!!

  • newm0mmy says:

    i am dealing with this now. I feel like i am going bald! i take a shower and by the time i am done and dressed i have lost at least half the hair i had before. Even during the day i feel like i lose hair non stop. Having a 4 month old that wants to grab on everything, this isn’t great. she gets handfuls and im always scared that hair will be wrapped around her fingers,toes or neck! scary. Not sure what to do to make it better, but at least its normal..

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I should be bald in no time… at Cultured Mama.

meta

