Olive Bread! By Accident!

September 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

So I finally got around to that biscuit dough that was intended for the camp-out and therefore has been soaking since Saturday.  I had doubled the recipe from Nourishing Traditions, so I had a LOT of dough.  I actually ended up departing from the recipe in the book, adding more kefir to the soak and then on the back end adding more flour once I incorporated the baking soda.  It made for a more bready, less biscuity consistency. The biscuits cooked up really well, being tender and toothsome, though not at flaky as biscuits tend to be.  But they certainly didn’t cook up like rolls, so I consider it a biscuit success.

I only used half the batch for biscuits. In reality, I had intended to use the second batch for biscuits as well, but while in the fridge, I spied a tub of olives, and inspiration hit!  I jumped into action, chopping olives, getting frustrated with chopping one at a time, and then proceeding to dump the whole container into the cuisanart.  I also had a leftover remnant of raw smoked cheddar which I roughly chopped as well, and then kneaded into the dough, adding a little more flour to compensate for all the oil in the olives.  I turned that mess into an oiled loaf pan, and baked at 350F for about 45 minutes.

It is AWESOME. Very much on the salty side, but not unpalatable– just what you would expect from olives.  I am quite pleased with the result.  Score one for innovation and experimentation!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Olive Bread! By Accident! at Cultured Mama.

meta

