Sourdough Raisin Bread French Toast

October 14, 2010 § 2 Comments

This week, the supermarket bakery had a fabulous Apple Cider Raisin Bread sourdough loaf that I simply HAD TO HAVE.  As soon as I saw it, I knew I needed to make french toast.  And also to reverse engineer that bad boy and make some of my own.  The reverse engineering will have to wait for another day, because here’s a lot on my proverbial plate this week, and I have yet to successfully maintain a starter for longer than a week. *shame*

I am following along with the “pay what you can” Sourdough eCourse at GNOWFGLINS though, so I am hoping practice will eventually make perfect.  Or at least, sufficient.  I highly recommend the ecourse, by the way.  That and the Fundamentals class.  I took that in conjunction with Nourished Kitchen‘s “How to Cook Real Food” and they are a wealth of info!  If you are new to cooking, or real food, or just want to brush up on what you already know and add new techniques to your repertoire, these online cooking classes are wonderful!  Plus, GNOWFGLINS “pay what you can” plan is wonderfully flexible.

But I digress.  The Apple Cider loaf was crusty on the outside and a little denser than a sandwich bread on the inside. This was great for the custard soak though, so the slices really held up.  It was made with golden raisins, (which I am beginning to prefer to regular “purple” raisins of late) and had chunks of apples and cinnamon throughout.  I should add that the loaf smelled like apple cider.  Good stuff!

I made the whole loaf, which gave me enough for leftovers the next morning, and they re-heated really well, and were even better the next day!

Sourdough French Toast

Ingredients

  • 1 loaf sourdough raisin bread
  • 2 T butter, ghee, or coconut oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 T maple syrup or honey
  • 1 tsp arrowroot powder or cornstarch
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions

In a casserole dish, or bowl that is big enough to put the bread slices in, beat together all of the ingredients except the bread and fat.  Putting in slices as you are going to cook them, allow each slice to soak for about 30 seconds in the mixture. Melt fat in pan or griddle set on med heat. Cook slices until medium brown, flipping once to cook both sides.

Serve warm with maple syrup.

 

French Toast on FoodistaFrench Toast

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Sourdough Raisin Bread French Toast

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sourdough Raisin Bread French Toast at Cultured Mama.

meta

